Quick question about ram

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by paintballah03, Dec 26, 2004.

  1. paintballah03

    paintballah03 My av has been stolen. :squint:

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,621
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm thinking about buying some new ram, but is there any way I can check to see how many slots I have on the mobo without taking the case off? It's an HP computer and the mobo is made by Asus, but I guess since it's made for an HP computer there's nothing about the model on their website. The html from cpuz is here:

    http://www.wtfhost.com/userfiles/sailsinthesun054/cpuz.htm

    Any help is appreciated.:)

    Edit- Another question, if I keep one 256MB stick of pc2700 ram, and add a 512MB stick of pc3200, the pc3200 will run at pc2700 speed, correct?
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2004
  2. Mikey D

    Mikey D New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI
    HP should have that info on their website.

    Might be able to goto Crucials website and see what options are available for memory upgrades there as well.
     
  3. Mikey D

    Mikey D New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI

    Si
     
  4. paintballah03

    paintballah03 My av has been stolen. :squint:

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,621
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. paintballah03

    paintballah03 My av has been stolen. :squint:

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,621
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I upgrade to 768MB of pc2700 as opposed to 512MB of pc2700 that I have now, will I notice much of a difference? I play a lot of games, watch movies, do some picture editing, and some video editing.
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yes, with gaming, picture/video editing, you see a performance jump with adding ram.

    Don't trust crucials site, they've been wrong more than a couple times. A visual inspection is the best method -- and you have to remove the side panel to install it, anyway.
     
  7. paintballah03

    paintballah03 My av has been stolen. :squint:

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,621
    Likes Received:
    0
    I already pretty much knew what ram I needed, just didn't know how many slots I had and was too lazy to open up the case.:o
     

Share This Page