Quick PHP Question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by o2, Sep 16, 2006.

1. o2

o2 Witty Title Here OT Supporter

Im rather new to php, and Im coding myself a CMS. I ran into a small problem with the item hit counter (shows how many times a video has been viewed).
    I simply have a function add_hit($type, $id) which adds 1 to the "hits" field for that specific item ID. SImple... the problem is that it executes upon when a user comments on a video, or refreshes the pages.
    How can I only count the initial page load as a hit, and ignore the refreshes, etc?
    It has to workt he same way for logged in and logged out users.

2. Peyomp

Peyomp New Member

Just a question: Are you reinventing a CMS because you like to program and want to, or because you think you have to?

3. o2

Im doing it for practise, and if its good enough, to replace the current script I use on all of my sites.
    By CMS... I dont mean stuff like phpnuke.... this is content specific (for video, and link dump sites). Its pretty similar to what I use on www.grayvee.com (NSFW)

4. piratepenguin

piratepenguin New Member

Store their IP and only add it if its not already in there?

5. o2

Thats gotta own the server pretty fast.... since my site gets over 70k uniques per day. Thats gonna be over 100,000 records per day that would be added to the DB.

Last edited: Sep 16, 2006
  6. Slid.

Slid. I'm a guy.

Use sessions/cookies to determine whether or not you've already logged something as a view -- no extra server load.

Code:
    function add_hit($type, $id) {

if($_SESSION['hitflag']==1) return;
    $_SESSION['hitflag'] = 1;

// your other code here

}

Make sure you session_start(); before accessing/writing to the session variables, if you haven't used sessions before then read up on them -- my code is incomplete.

7. Slid.

Slid. I'm a guy.