Quick Networking Question!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by assclown, Nov 17, 2003.

  1. assclown

    assclown Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    92,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    When I go into Port Forwarding in my router's settings, if I set a range for 192.168.1.1 will it forward the ports for everything plugged into my router or do I have to set a specific IP like 192.168.1.101?
     
  2. i don't know what you are trying to ask because that is one damn long sentence, but i'll try to answer.

    port forwarding works like this:

    you select a port or range or ports. when a request for the port comes into the router, it will be forwarded to the ip address that you specify.

    EXAMPLE:

    to set up warcraft 3 games, port forwarding needs to be set up on port 6112. so, i set up port 6112 to be forwarded to my private ip address for my computer 192.168.0.2
     
  3. assclown

    assclown Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    92,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Thank you sir. My question is, which IP address do I specify? If I put 192.168.1.1 will it apply to everything connected to my router?

    To be specific, I'm trying to open ports so that I can use my headset with SOCOM. I'm not exactly sure what the IP address for my PS2 is, so I was wondering if I can apply the port forwarding to 192.168.1.1.

    The PS2 is either 192.168.1.101 or 192.168.1.102.
     
  4. assclown

    assclown Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    92,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    OK, the PS2 is 192.168.1.101. I'll set the port forwarding to that IP. Proabably still wont work :o
     
  5. OmniFire

    OmniFire *************************

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin
    192.168.1.1 <-- thats the router's local IP
     
  6. assclown

    assclown Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    92,231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    That's why I was wondering if I forward the ports using that IP if it will work for everything connected to the router.
     
  7. no it won't, it will only forward it to the router's near (inside port) then stop. you have to set it to the PS2's ip address. you can try to broadcast it to everything on the subnet by putting in 192.168.1.255 for an ip address destination. make sure that your subnet mask on the router is 255.255.255.0
     

Share This Page