Quick Memory Question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Saluki, Sep 28, 2009.

  1. Saluki

    Saluki New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,655
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I have 4gb of RAM right now...I was to get 2 more sticks (2gb each), what I was wondering is if the sticks have to be exactly the same as the first set. I figured the speed and size should be the same but I really don't know. I've never added to the RAM I currently have...

    TIA
     
  2. vipergts24

    vipergts24 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Zomgland
    no but you should make sure they are compatible with your motherboard
     
  3. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    make sure you are running a 64bit OS, otherwise you're just wasting your money.
     
  4. Sailor Jerry

    Sailor Jerry OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    35,173
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Dirtona Beach
    Same timings/speed/size is all you really need. Brand/model type really doesn't matter unless you're pushing them by overclocking or something.
     
  5. Saluki

    Saluki New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,655
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I am, and thanks for the replies!
     

Share This Page