Quick Memory Question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Kieffer87, Sep 28, 2007.

  1. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    Looking to add 2gb more memory to my system for a total of 3gb. My board calls for PC2-5300 / 667 MHz. Anyways right now i have 2x512 and I want to get 2x1gb.

    i can get 2 individual 1gb sticks of kingston for ~60 or the 2gb dual channel kit for ~65.

    Is it worth it to pay the few bucks extra for the kit or will the 2 individual sticks be the same?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    get the kit, and avoid kingston.
     
  3. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    Whats your reason for avoiding kingston? over 190 reviews on newegg had nothing but good things to say.
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2007
  4. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    "kits" came from the same production batch and ensures that the 2 dimms is a matched pair.
    it's best to use modules with same specs for smooth dual channel operation.
     
  5. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    Thats what I figured, just ordered some.:noes:
     
  6. bpfx

    bpfx .

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DFW
    Kingston is the bottom of the barrel. You can use it, but you won't get the performance of Crucial, PNY or other higher end memory manufactures.
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    PNY is bottom of the barrel.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    it's re-branded tier-2 crap. Get Corsair and call it a day.
     
  9. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    let's do this again.
    Corsair does not manufacture their own memory chips.
    Like Kingston, they are an assembler.
    Corsair use Samsung, Micron, etc. Kingston use Infineon, Nanya, etc.

    http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/166
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    *some* of the xms sticks will use other chips. This is because the XMS line is a no-comprimise product line. Some chips are Corsair, some are Samsung, etc... The *best* tool for the job. All ValueSelect that I have seen is Corsair.

    Kingston takes the CHEAPEST chips they can find, and sell that under their own name. Corsair doesn't do that. They make their own to keep quality up, and costs down. Is it as cheap as going to the lowest bidder? No. But it's price competitive, and reliable. For the XMS, cost is less of an issue -- this is also why you see a large fluctuation between XMS prices -- different chips carry different costs. Corsair simply sets the specs, and uses whatever chips they need to to get those specs... And whatever the cost is what the cost is.
     
  11. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ever heard of Corsair's bait and switch fiasco?
    They used Micron chips on the first batch, then use shitty ICs made by Promos Tech on the next batches. A lot of enthusiasts were pissed.

    Corsair pretty much use the same IC vendors as Kingston, OCZ, Mushkin, etc.
    http://www.houseofhelp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=57334
    Those are for their high end ram (Dominators, XMS, etc.)
    Elpida and Nanya are very popular vendors, specially on the cheap market.

    Unfortunately, I can't find a list online for their ValueSelect line. But here's a sort of proof that they use different chips.

    http://www.anandtech.com/memory/showdoc.aspx?i=2392&p=2
    Corsair just rebadge those ICs.
     

Share This Page