Quick Hint: You don't need to max out your ram...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Raider007, Jul 1, 2007.

  1. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    this isn't windows...

    99% of you don't need anything more than 2 gigs of ram...you won't notice a performance bump. Save your money. OSX utilizes your ram and cpu shit tons better than windows. Saying you have 3 or 4 gigs doesn't makes your balls any bigger, you're just wasting your money.

    the other 1% of you that do higher end photoshop/aperture/video editing knock yourself.

    if you you moderate photoshop/video work, 2 gigs is enough...

    just a friendly reminder... :wavey:
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    My experience has been that Linux and OSX benefit from added RAM more than windows.

    With windows, you simply add enough to exceed what you're doing. If it's light web browsing, for example, 512MB is probably fine. The jump to 3GB isn't gonna do shit because if you wern't using 512MB to begin with, you're not gonna use the additional 2.5GB.

    However, with Linux/OSX the system CAN benefit. The way those systems do caching it may only "need" 512MB to run, but anything extra is going to aide the system in caching and making the overall experience more snappy.

    Sorry, your friendly reminder isn't so correct in my book.

    Your statement "OSX utilizes your ram and cpy shit tons better than windows" agrees with my explaination, btw.
     
  3. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I maxed mine out for many reasons.

    A. It was free.
    B. I do heavy PS and CS3 app work.
    C. I do heavy video editing.

    The first day I had the RAM, I didn't notice any difference.. but seems to be improving daily, as I do more and more work..
     
  4. hellodon

    hellodon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maxing out my ram made a HUGE difference for me....

    Way more noticeable than any windows ram upgrade I ever remember.
     
  5. Yardsale

    Yardsale OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    88,007
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    2 gigs vs 4 gigs

    i don't think i'd see a diff until i was using color/motion heavily.
     
  6. Supamoochu

    Supamoochu New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia - soon to be without porn
    if you ever use motion get a nice big fat chuck of ram for your comp. I have 4.5 GB in my G5 and with some of the more complex work I do I find myself wanting more.

    you're right through, the majority 'average' of users could get by with less ram :)
     
  7. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Hm, I actually agree with Jollyogre. Increasing RAM on each of the 3 apple laptops I've owned has resulted in far more noticeable improvements in overall speed than in any of the windows systems I owned for 10 years before buying a Mac.
     
  8. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area

    So you're going to tell me that all these users getting macbooks/mbp's/imacs need to max out their machines at 3or 4 gigs worth of ram if they're average users? Minimum for OSX is a gig without hesitation, but again, if you're an average user, you don't need more than 2 gigs of ram...if you play with photoshop here and there, or light video editing, you don't need more than 2 gigs. on the other hand if you do this often or as your job, then do whatever you want. are you honestly going to disagree with what i said?

    Which is exactly what I said.

    let me say it again, if you're an AVERAGE user (including people that do light video/photo/audio work), you don't need more than 2 gigs of ram. if you're a PRO user max it out at your pleasure.

    spend your money on other stuff if you're an average user. get an external harddrive or a bag or speakers or something...
     
  9. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Ok, but the average windows user probably doesn't need more than 1 gig of ram. See the point now?
     
  10. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    i think we're trying to make the same point?
    You need at least a gig but no more than 2 gigs is what i'm saying...
    do you see the point now?

    I keep reading all these "i'm going to buy/just bought a (fill in mac here) and put in/with 3 or 4 gigs of ram" and it's pointless for 99% of the people that bought it. Most this is from new mac users.
     
  11. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Consider though that new Mac users are more likely to be running/end up running Parallels on their new Macs, in which case, more than 2GB WILL help.
     

Share This Page