Quick Dos Help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Kaldes, Mar 31, 2006.

  1. Kaldes

    Kaldes New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando
    if a dos commands needs the \\computer name and you dont know it how in dos can you do it also if the computer name is like John Smith (with space) how is it written \\"John Smith"
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    iirc, you need to map the UNC path to a network drive.

    to map drive "N:" to \\server\path\ you would:
    net use n: \\server\path
     
  3. Kaldes

    Kaldes New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando
    but I dont want to map the drive?

    unless im missing something
     
  4. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    You may want to take another run at that, it doesn't make much sense. Are you trying to get the local computer name from DOS, or a remote one? For the computer you are running the command on you can substitute %computername%, i.e. \\%computername%
    In windows, Computer names cannot have spaces. You may be thinking of the description. Check the %computername% variable (from dos run: echo %computername%) for the actual computer name.
     
  5. Kaldes

    Kaldes New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando
    Ok I got that, thats good to know. If I wanted remote computer name I could use net view but I get \\Servername and a remark. but the command I'm attempting to do uses \\computername but doesnt seem to like just the server name.
     
  6. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    how about using the IP address
     
  7. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    That's because most things require a share name as well.

    If you explained what you are trying to do, you'd save us and yourself time.
     
  8. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    what command are you trying to use?
     
  9. Teck

    Teck WTF? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    IF the computer is in the same broadcast domain you can use the following command to see other computer(s):
    net view
     
  10. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    try the ip address of the other computer. network neighborhood and workgroups doesn't always work 100% of the time
     
  11. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    .
     

Share This Page