quick dock question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mikeflys1, Sep 1, 2007.

  1. mikeflys1

    mikeflys1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im kind of a mac newb so sorry for the dumb question...Is there anyway to make a program open up all the way beneath the dock? Like if i open firefox or safari the window's bottom edge will only go to the top edge of the dock. It does it anytime it opens regardless of the window position when i closed it so i was just wondering if its a weird mac setting somewhere.

    screenshot if my description sucks....
    [​IMG]
     
  2. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    no, you can have the dock hide but besides that no. You cannot resize anything below the dock.
     
  3. dbman96

    dbman96 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2000
    Messages:
    49,996
    Likes Received:
    6
    right, you just need to set the dock to autohide
     
  4. urbnkitten

    urbnkitten New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Francisco
    is there any way to make a window go full screen without sizing it manually?
     
  5. LifeBurnsFaster

    LifeBurnsFaster New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    13,391
    Likes Received:
    0
    The green button :hsugh:
     
  6. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,753
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    the green button will maximize the window, based on the content inside of the window, it should maximize to that size. it's different than the maximize button that microsoft windows 9x/xp whatever has.

    also, you should try putting the dock on the side, i have mine on the right side on autohide, it's different, but i like it much better than having it on the bottom
     
  7. Legend Zero

    Legend Zero OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    35,873
    Likes Received:
    0
    either "cleardock" or "transparent dock" will do this for you, i believe it's the latter, but am uncertain.
     
  8. mikeflys1

    mikeflys1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    transparent dock looks like it'll do it but it no worky with intel macs :wtc:
     
  9. kamikaze

    kamikaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    33,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barrie Ontario
    i use cleardock on my intel macs, but just using the green button won't make it go past the top of the dock. setting teh dock to auto-hide works tho ;)
     

Share This Page