A&P Questions on Sunpak flash/turbo battery, and a few photos for C+C

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by niquesuave06, Dec 5, 2007.

1. niquesuave06

niquesuave06 New Member

I was given a Sunpak Auto555 flash with a Quantum Turbo Battery yesterday, but I have no experience with handle mount flashes. . .to be honest, I have very little experience with external flashes altogether.

The flash itself is missing the battery pack that goes in the top, any idea if it should it work if only plugged into the turbo battery?

I tried powering on the battery and test firing the flash, but its not working. There's a good chance that I'm just being an idiot and missing something here. Like I said before, I know next to nothing about this flash (hell, it may be broken :dunno: ). Any suggestions are welcome. I've pretty much got the on/off button figured out, but tips on anything else I may be ignorantly overlooking are welcome :o

Another equipment question. . .I'm looking for a cheap optical slave flash. There is literally no requirement other than it being cheap. Its for a project and will probably rarely be used in the future.

Here are three photos for C+C. . .I tried to eliminate the 'pelf' in these (it took me forever to figure out what the hell you guys were talking about with that :o )

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

:wavey: Thanks guys.

2. spizarxxx

spizarxxx DSLR, GSD, DJ CREW & OT's Resident On Air Personal

the pics a re super super super plain and boring...

3. eof

eof New Member

:werd:

Not interesting at all.

4. brasheye

brasheye Rotary Crew

What do you consider cheap.

I'm using Sigma EF500DG Super's with built in O/S with success, no misfires even in the brightest of daytime light, will trigger from a 580 @ 1/32 power no problem.

Even cheaper, buy the cheapest manual adjustable flash you can, vivitar 285, 283 etc and use a sonia o/s or wein peanut. Just make sure the trigger voltages are rather high on the flash.