Questions about Mac Mini

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mdaniel, Jun 11, 2005.

  1. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,388
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Does it come with a DVI-VGA adapter in the box?

    If I skip Wifi and BT right now, how could it be added later? Does anyone make USB Wifi or BT adapters for Mac? If it must be added internally, will they sell me the part and does it just plug into a slot inside like the Airport slots I've seen on PBs?

    If I buy one off the web site, are they shipping with 10.4 now?
     
  2. LiekOMG

    LiekOMG New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jenna Jameson's School of the "Performing Arts"
    Yes it comes with the adapter. The Airport and bluetooth can be added later, but it must be installed by Apple - I don't believe you can buy the special module yourself.

    Yes all macs ship with Tiger now.
     
  3. diranged

    diranged New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just spend the $$$ for BT and WiFi in it already - you cannot add it (the internal version) later. Also it does come with 10.4, and a DVI-VGA converter.

    PS. I love my Mini -- it lives in the livingroom and lets people get on the net without using my laptop.
     
  4. Jack Imhoff

    Jack Imhoff Guest

    Actually, I just saw the BT/Airport kit for the Mini at CompUSA for $99. However, if you fawk it up, it won't be covered under warranty. I had the apple store do it and it only cost me $99.
     
  5. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,388
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Does anyone know how fast the hard drive is (rpm)?
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    4200rpm
     
  7. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    80 gig - 4200
    40 gig - 5400
     
  8. turbo91

    turbo91 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA

    They are both too slow though :) I put 1GB of RAM and a 7200rpm external firewire drive as my startup, and the computer is usable now...but, I know Apple was marketing to blahblahblah and if I want more performance get blahblahblah...
     
  9. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,388
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    I've been researching upgrades on the net and I think I'm going to get the 1.25 GHZ with the base memory and disks but add bluetooth and wifi. Then I'll add 1GB of RAM, 7200 rpm hard drive, and an 8x superdrive later. That way I get my foot in the door now for less money and I can turn it into a better machine than Apple would sell me. It will be good experience upgrading Macs and will give me first hand experience about how Macs react to various improvements.
     
  10. colosodian

    colosodian Next Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay
    that was my original intention as well. However, as of now I have ditched plans for an internal hd upgrade. I have the 5400 rpm 40GB, and although I would like to replace it with the 100gb seagate momentus 5400.2, after working inside the mini, I have no immediate intentions to do so. The 1GB PQI memory I bought gives me kernal panics so ill be picking up a stick of crucial to use.

    256mb of ram is much more useable than I had previously expected.
     

Share This Page