Questions about hosting a website for a business

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by RaBicaN, Feb 13, 2003.

  1. RaBicaN

    RaBicaN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Hey guys i got a few questions,

    1) For a huge website for an organization with 300 stores what type of connection would you need to host it? t1 or t3?

    2) Is the linux software firewall good enough for this or would i need something more like http://www.watchguard.com/products/firebox1000.asp

    3) What is needed other then registering a domain name, to get the site up and running?

    4) Is a p4 comp good enought to host it from?

    Thats all thanks alot guys!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  2. RaBicaN

    RaBicaN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    *bUmP*
     
  3. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    In my opinion, you're asking the wrong questions, but at least you asked...

    First, you should ask how many visitors you plan to get? Yes, you have 300 stores. But if they are all selling candles and your target audience are old folks, the amount of hits on this site might be considered low.

    Next is how much is available to spend? This question is fine by itself, but really depends on the first question. If you expect a boat load of people, then you're going to have to invest more in everything typically (bandwidth, hardware, security, etc).

    Next question is what are your hosting plans? Do you plan to go with an ISP to host the site? Do you plan to colocate or go with a dedicated server or share a server? Do you or someone on your team have web server experience? Depending on these questions will depend on where the server is physically located and who owns and manages it.

    Do you need a firewall? Yes. But if you go with a dedicated or shared hosting plan, then usually the ISP provides that (although ask before you sign up with anyone). In a colo situation or if you host internally, then you usually are on your own to do whatever you want so a firewall would be your responsibility.
     
  4. RaBicaN

    RaBicaN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Yea we sell car assesories so im expecting a big load, is a t1 line fast enought to host it? i will be hosting it on a comp at our place
     
  5. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    A T1 should hold you over. Is this a shared T1 with the office? If so, you may be asking for trouble (especially if you have folks on Kazaa or you're downloading the latest Microsoft patch).

    You may want to watch your traffic carefully as the site grows and be ready to add T1s as necessary.
     
  6. Astro

    Astro Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    If you are absolutely serious about hosting a serious web site, then you will probably want to look at colocating or a dedicated/managed server.

    1. Redundant power (if its a good ISP)
    2. Big if not really really big pipe to the Internet (you may not need all of it right away, but its nice to know you can tap an OC-3 or better if things really take off)
    3. Off site location - your building catches on fire, your web site will still be running
    4. If going with a dedicated server, you get the server management experience of the ISP which can be handy in keeping your server up and running during times of DOS attacks, doing backups, and installing the latest patches.

    Some things to think about...
     
  7. RaBicaN

    RaBicaN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    true good ideas do you think the software firewall can handle it if were hosting on our own comp or is the hardware one i posted a good choice?
     
  8. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    If you colo or get dedicated hosting, their network will already have a hardware firewall in place.
     

Share This Page