WEB Questions about converting an existing site into WP

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Falconer, Apr 13, 2009.

  1. Falconer

    Falconer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    65,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    Alright I have a site that has around 30 established pages that are ranking in google.

    If I wanted to convert my site to Wordpress, how do I get it so those pages keep their current URLs? They all end with .php right now. Would I need to set up some kind of permanent redirect (and if so, how?) or can I tell WP to use the old address so that google links don't change.

    Is there any kind of google penalty for making a big change like this?

    Also, the pages right now are all articles. I don't want them to be all bloggy with one posted right after the other, so is the correct procedure to have each "article" listed as a "Page" in wordpress?

    And what do I do in the meantime between when I install WP and when it's ready to go? How do I put up a "brb" page that users will see and then work on the new index.php (or whatever it's called in WP) behind the scenes?
     
  2. maxxpower

    maxxpower OG Lauren Crew - Observer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    26,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    set up a wordpress site and start populating it with your existing content. Then use redirects to the pages, one by one, testing to ensure your rank doesnt slip.
     
  3. Insert Tokens

    Insert Tokens Making Cancer My Bitch OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,329
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Also, build and test in a subdir, then move it overnight. That's how I do it, usually just a 5 minute job to move contents of subdir into root, update a few settings in the scripts, and you're off.

    And WP has the ability to give any page/blog whatever friendly URL you want.. so you could easily name them the same as the existing pages.
     
  4. Falconer

    Falconer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    65,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can I name it .php? i thought WP posts never had a file extension
     
  5. Falconer

    Falconer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    65,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    you mean like a new domain? i don't want to do that.

    or did you mean somewhere else on my current domain?
     
  6. nida

    nida Guest


    Uhm there are a lot of wordpress sites that have a .php at the end of their posts/story. I suggest naming the files the exact same and keeping it in the same directory as is. Maybe even remove the wordpress meta tags that embed after the install.
     
  7. maxxpower

    maxxpower OG Lauren Crew - Observer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    26,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    like a sub folder of your current domain
     
  8. Falconer

    Falconer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    65,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    If my current site is a bunch of articles, each on their own page, then if I covert it to WP would it be best to:

    a) have each current article be its own "page"

    b) have each current article be its own "post" and then have a "page" called "Article Index" or whatever where they are all listed?
     
  9. maxxpower

    maxxpower OG Lauren Crew - Observer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    26,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it is numerous articles then it is probably best to do it through posts as opposed to pages.
     
  10. Falconer

    Falconer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    65,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    Say I have a current article whose URL is mysite.com/article-title.php

    Well I'm gonna need to keep that same URL when I convert to WP, so after I cut and paste that article into a "New Post", how do I change the URL of that post so that it becomes mysite.com/article-title.php instead of whatever WP wants to call it by default?
     
  11. maxxpower

    maxxpower OG Lauren Crew - Observer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    26,348
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. Falconer

    Falconer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    65,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks!

    i had to set it to custom to get it to not display the /2009/4/2/ part in the URL tho.


    My current articles are all .php. Can I add .php to a WordPress URL without messing it up?

    edit - I just tried making a WP post and manually changing the extension to .php and it doesn't work. When I hit "save," it removes the dot and adds a slash, so when I tell it to call itself:

    mydomain/test-post.php

    it changes it to:

    mydomain/test-postphp/
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2009
  13. maxxpower

    maxxpower OG Lauren Crew - Observer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    26,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    my brain hurts.
    Ask someone else.
    I went to check on my wp site and i dont have friendly links enabled, then tried to enable it and ran into an htaccess security fault, fuck it.
     
  14. Insert Tokens

    Insert Tokens Making Cancer My Bitch OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,329
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Tasmania
    I have most of my WP sites running friendly URLs with .php at the end..

    None i'm going to divulge to the horrors that are OT ;) but.. it's as easy as setting your permalinks to be something like this:

    /articles/%category%/%title%.php

    ..or whatever format you want.
     
  15. Falconer

    Falconer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    65,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    ^ o rly i will try that.

    Let's say I do that and it works and I get all my current articles copied over.

    If I then change the permalink structure back to "normal" WP (without the .php), will it try to change all my currently existing pages, or just the new ones that I make from that point forward? edit - dammit, it does change them all back. Fuck, so this won't work, either.

    Wait, would it work better if I just added every article as a new post but just put up a ton of redirects from the current .php articles to the new non-.php articles?

    Is that easy to do? With it fuck with my google ranking? Google already has 20+ pages from my current site indexed. I don't want to change them and have people get 404s.

    I think I'm going to need to do it that way, so like:

    mydomain.com/old-article.php ----redirects to----> mydomain.com/new-WP-article/

    How do I do that, and is that the best way to do it?
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2009
  16. maxxpower

    maxxpower OG Lauren Crew - Observer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    26,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    dude, send us admin to your site and we will build it for you.
     
  17. Pepsi1975

    Pepsi1975 Mod of the Year

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    47,590
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Detroit
    i did it for ozi once, faster than trying to walk him through it :rofl:

    but falconer hits me up on aim alot about wordpress
     
  18. maxxpower

    maxxpower OG Lauren Crew - Observer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    26,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    so after fucking 10 posts you decide to wake up and respond to this thread?
    help a nig out bro
     
  19. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Use 301 Redirects. You may experience loss in PR, but it'll get back up overtime.
     
  20. Pepsi1975

    Pepsi1975 Mod of the Year

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    47,590
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Detroit
    we been talking on aim :rofl:
     

Share This Page