question regarding outdoor power provisions or something lol

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Ronin, Jun 3, 2007.

  1. Ronin

    Ronin Guest

    would i experience a large loss in power if i strung a 100' extension cord from a standard socket to power some pro audio shiznit?

    my concern is will it work?

    thinking about a pair of these:

    http://www.guitarcenter.com/shop/product/JBL-MRX515-15-2Way-Loudspeaker?full_sku=103861050

    +

    http://www.guitarcenter.com/shop/product/buy_crown_xs900_power_amp?full_sku=481581

    or something similar

    and ill just use a laptop or something similar and get RCA to XLR adapters

    seldom summer use so rain etc isnt going to be a factor
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 3, 2007
  2. Ronin

    Ronin Guest

  3. joetama

    joetama New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea you would notice problems....

    What are you getting there for? Getting into the PA business...:mamoru:
     
  4. Ronin

    Ronin Guest

    throwing a big party outside in a field trying to figure out how i can get power for sound system etc out there

    in my living room the sockets are hooked up to 2 50 amp breakers, i could run a extension cord from this room and if i change the layout i bit i can probably make do with a 50 foot power cord(maybe even shorter), would i need to upgrade my sockets 2?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 6, 2007
  5. Harry V. Gina

    Harry V. Gina How did your family do in Katrina?

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    0
    You might want to ask on prosoundweb.com

    I'm sure it would be ok as long as you use a cord with a heavy enough guage.
     
  6. joetama

    joetama New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    0
    NO, you shouldn't pull that much current...

    But, make sure you go with a large gauge cable so that you don't have much voltage drop.

    You will probably be best off going to Lowes or Home Depot buying bulk cable and put your own Edison ends on... Make sure they are the heavy duty ones...

    http://www.csgnetwork.com/voltagedropcalc.html

    I wouldn't use anything smaller than 14 or 12 AWG...
     
  7. Ronin

    Ronin Guest

  8. joetama

    joetama New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea there would be no problem with using those...
     
  9. joetama

    joetama New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, a few other things that I thought of...

    You are probably going to need tri-pods (AKA Sticks). Ultimate makes some pretty awesome ones, but you can just pick some up from Parts Express if you want to go cheap.

    You can hook your computer up, but I would think it would be dangerous to the loudspeaker/amplifer. Behringer makes some nice little 4 channel mixers which would help in the interfacing. Also, get a rack for everything, ie mixer/amplifier. Also, it wouldn't be a bad idea to get a microphone. Shure Bata Green or PG lines would be a good place to look. They are pretty much the same thing as a SM58 or Beta 58.
     
  10. Ronin

    Ronin Guest

    yeah im gonna copy a crown defined set up application, mixer + eq with mic and speakers
     
  11. joetama

    joetama New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    0
    So what are you getting now?
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you could run that fine. Just remember voltage drops as distance increases. For 100' you want a 20A rated 10awg cord.
     

Share This Page