Question on HDTV + Home Theatre PC

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by revert, May 3, 2006.

  1. revert

    revert *insert witty comment here*

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    toronto
    thinking of making an HTPC for my HDTV in the living room...

    anyone have one or has made one, that can suggest some good
    HD Tuner/Decoders and/or Video cards to use?

    currently, I am set up with just my HDTV and my HD box from rogers




    thanks for the help
     
  2. ShapeShifterz

    ShapeShifterz Longtime Lurker

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2000
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    I don't think there's any way to get HD channels on your PC from cable.

    HD tuners out there are for OTA channels. Digital content thru cable is called QAM, but over here, Comcast encrypts that content. Not 100% sure about Rogers.

    Bottom line, your provider will either need to support QAM, or you'll need to find some TV tuner for your PC that supports CableCARD.

    For SD content, TV tuner cards have become so cheap nowadays it doesn't really matter which one you get.
     
  3. revert

    revert *insert witty comment here*

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    toronto
    thanks for the info...
    i was really lookin forward to doing this,
    but i guess i'll hold off for now
     
  4. samm

    samm Next in Line

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2000
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    mythtv can control a cable box through a firewire cable.
     
  5. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    :werd: or IR
     
  6. revert

    revert *insert witty comment here*

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    toronto
    oooo, link?

    edit: doesn't look like it supports true HD though...
    plus, all cards i see out there are for OTA HD channels
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2006
  7. samm

    samm Next in Line

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2000
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    mythtv supports high definition channels just fine. It basically emulates a DVHS deck and controls the cable box through the firewire cable.

    I have no experience using a PCI over the air card with mythtv. I recall an old episode of diggnation or some other video podcast with kevin rose where they did a review of mythtv and showed how to set it up with such a card...
     

Share This Page