GUN Question on a legal issue.

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Aequitas, Mar 21, 2006.

1. Aequitas

Aequitas If it keeps on raining, levee's going to break.

I live in an aparment complex that's geared towards college students, 3 and 4 bedrooms with individual leases. The property is off campus. The lease says there is no firearms allowed. I don't see how they would possibly find a firearm, unless it was out in the open. But, if someone was to keep the gun in the apartment and it was found and they evicted the person, could it be argued that they're violating his/her 2nd amendment rights? Also, would the NRA have said person's back?

2. TL1000RSquid

TL1000RSquid ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

If its in the lease contract no guns, then I don't think you'de have much of a chance to fight it.

3. Aequitas

That's what I was thinking, but I had some hope. Oh well, only a month left to go.

4. TL1000RSquid

TL1000RSquid ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

I could be wrong I'm not a lawyer, but if its in a contract you signed then thats pretty binding.

5. Aequitas

I was thinking it could be a situation where, even if put into a contract, it isn't something that can be forbidden. But, I guess it's kind of like waiving your 5th amendmant rights too.

6. twofourtysx

twofourtysx New Member

Thats the same as apts saying you cant have dogs. Its their apartment and their policy. It could be argued that if you dont like it you could easilly rest the apt down the street. If you sign the contract and get caught with a firearm you would probabally be in some trouble

7. striker754

striker754 Chillin

NRA won't do JACK shit for you. Don't EVER count on them.

Worst that will happen is you get evicted. Your lease says no guns, you signed it, no 2nd amendment won't happen here.

8. twofourtysx

twofourtysx New Member