question for the techy savay (drivetrain chatter)

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by Fareo, Sep 17, 2007.

1. Fareo

Fareo New Member

ok so im trying to understand something,

i used to have a '97 dodge dakota single cab 5.2V8 5 speed (2-3 bel-tech drop).. i sold it.. and i just got a '04 dodge dakota single cab 4.7V8 5 Speed (stock sus).

what im trying to figure out is why my new truck feels like im driving a seesaw and my old truck felt like a dropped mustang?? for starters the throttle spring is super soft (this i know how to fix) but what i dont understand is when im decellerating and it gets to about 1k rpm you know how you get that disconnection feeling?

typically its really sublte, you just get alil chug and then it stabizes(or thats atleast how it was in my 97). with this truck it when it hits the chug it chatters alil bit and if im floating over throttle the chugs make me tap it and it looks like im learning how to drive stick.. :o... i used to work as a lot porter for dodge and this is how the 4 banger 5 speed dakotas drove?

so what casues this? is it soft clutch springs? could it be becasue its not dropped? i no leafs bend up like an S when you nail the throttle, which is why we have traction bars so id amagin that the leafs moving that much moves the whole drivetrain around alot? so would it be that my leafs are too soft? or soft drivetrain bushings mounts? or is it the stupid throttle spring?? what could be so different from my 97 to 04?

as far as i understand it, they are pretty much the same truck, that Gen dakota spans from 97-04 the tranny is the same NV3500 in both trucks, they both have and had a 3.55 anti-spin diff? the only major differance (that i can think of) is the engine?

your thoughts? :dunno:

pix for thoughs who dont want to read :o

old truck
    [​IMG]

new truck
    [​IMG]

new goal (- the air ride sus, im gonna do a 3-4 or 2-4 prolly).. just a basic idea.
    [​IMG]