Question for the Interweb experts. :o

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by VBGOD, Feb 25, 2003.

  1. VBGOD

    VBGOD Guest

    I have this site: http://www.herbiescookies.com, which works fine and is ran off my server. Now, I got another site, but it will be so low volume that I don't want to sign up a web host for it. I want to host it off the same machine. The current location of this site is on the same cookies server. The site for this site is http://www.herbiescookies.com:81 The domain registered for that is http://www.sb-x.com, which resides and points to register.com I'd like to tie this altogether.
     
  2. VBGOD

    VBGOD Guest

    The SB-X site is not ready for public viewing. I consider you guys private in most ways. I'm just getting ready to see if I can run two sites off one machine with no problems.
     
  3. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Which web server software are you using?
     
  4. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    if u have apache installed u can do this. this is what i do:

    1. setup apache to ur server. i run 8080-8090 for my webservers
    2. register domains
    3. forward to server (eg: http:\\192.168.1.100:8081) so when they click on ur doman (www.herbiesweedcookies.com) it goes to http:\\192.168.1.100:8081, but they see www.herbiesweedcookies.com instead.

    there could, and probably is an easier way, but thats what i use.
     
  5. VBGOD

    VBGOD Guest

    :doh:

    Windows 2000 Server using IIS 5.0
     
  6. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA

Share This Page