WEB question for the 9-5 webmasters

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by BoostedBoogie, Apr 25, 2008.

1. im about to graduate and get my bachelor's pretty soon with my next semester being my last and was wondering what kind of things have you guys out there learned after migrating past the "entry-level" stage of web development?

i've been freelancing for almost 3 years now and have worked small web jobs here and there, but i haven't considered anything long-term until after i graduate and was just curious as to what king of things you get involved in when it comes to on-site training and what languages/techniques you've had to maintain in order to keep up with the industry.

also curious about what your daily routine is like at the office. with my small jobs, mostly doing interfaces, that's all i pretty much did. :hs:

i'm wondering about this in all aspects of the industry, not just xhtml, so flash/database/asp/perl/etc guys feel free to chime in.

2. Logik

Logik Livin la vida broka

generally, 9-5 webmasters arent programmers or design guys... you might want to ask what a *nix admin does in a 9-5 job.. since it would be similar but with more responsibilities.

how are your bash skillz?

3. macistaniMac

macistaniMac New Member

Lots of meetings if you work in a big company.

If you aren't good with [non-technical] people, you aren't going anywhere. period.

Don't let the company buy you a cell phone, this holds double-true if its a smart phone.

4. macistaniMac

macistaniMac New Member

Addendum: Learn to manage projects and perform business analysis or learn to enjoy being outsourced in the not-so-distant future. Things ARE still moving in that direction.

5. tehganj

tehganj oh, hi.

you speak the truth, sir. :rofl:

6. Vtec44

Vtec44 OG!

cell phone/smart phone = wireless leash! Unfortunately, I have a wireless leash. :(

7. macistaniMac

macistaniMac New Member