Question about Win XP Pro

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by brent s, Jan 15, 2006.

  1. brent s

    brent s OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    73,962
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I have win xp pro on my current computer. I'm planning on upgrading my processor / mobo in the near future. Can i just reinstall windows after i do this with the key i have already? I'm going to be using the same HD's, but with a new mobo i'm assuming i'll have to reinstall windows because of the drivers right?
     
  2. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,422
    Likes Received:
    270
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    After the swap, boot off the XP CD-ROM. At the first prompt where repair is an option, don't choose it. Choose to install Windows. A couple of minutes later, it will scan you hard disks and find your existing Windows installation. Choose R for repair at this one. It'll reload Windows over itself, removing the old drivers. Your documents and applications won't be disturbed.
     
  3. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    installing over top is just asking for problems. Do it right the first time, wipe and reinstall.
     
  4. MrMan

    MrMan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you change your motherboard, you can install Windows again but may not be able to activate it. If you cannot activate, call Microsoft and they'll handle it.

    If anything, just backup your most important files just in case.
    Go to Add/Remove Programs and write down each one.
    Don't forget to back up My Documents, Outlook E-mails, and Internet Bookmarks.
     
  5. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    An OEM version of XP may have issues, but a boxed or corporate shouldn't
     
  6. brent s

    brent s OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    73,962
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I bought it from a friend of the family that owns a business that does systems for other businesses and stuff. So i'm assuming they use the same key on all their systems.
     
  7. Sabrewulf

    Sabrewulf New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hammond, LA
    :werd: wipe it and reinstall on any mobo change. Any other way(repair, install over) is asking for hella trouble. Much easier to backup and reinstall :wavey:
     

Share This Page