question about wifi

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by phogen, Jul 24, 2004.

  1. phogen

    phogen Education is a progressive discovery of our own ig

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester or Central PA
    My unkle is getting a strong wifi signal at his house. I've never gotten the chance to play around with wifi, but he wants me to help him get connected through this signal. Right now all he has is the signal. How would he find the isp/ip or whatever he needs to get connected. I'm sure there's a program out there to help with this, I just need pointed in the right direction.

    thanks,
    john
     
  2. WERUreo

    WERUreo Imua!

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Daytona Beach, Florida
    Is your uncle the one with the wireless AP, or is he just getting a signal from somewhere else??
     
  3. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,454
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    http://www.netstumbler.com/ will scan your location and tell you what access points are available and whether or not they're encrypted. Most likely one or more of his neighbors nearby has a wireless LAN.
     
  4. phogen

    phogen Education is a progressive discovery of our own ig

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester or Central PA


    Ya, he's just getting the signal from somewhere else. Like the last poster said, probably a neighbor or something. Will netstumbler give you the info you need to get connected?
     
  5. Stev

    Stev Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    11,409
    Likes Received:
    0
    netstumbler is a big help in analyzing the wireless signal.

    www.netstumbler.com

    Let us know things like what IP address was assigned to his computer if there was one...
    Basicly, the problem is either in authentication or association. They could have MAC address filtering or SSID turned off or... something up, so it might not be possible.

    but install it and get back to us on some info.
     

Share This Page