Question about wallpaper on dual monitors

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by trickdaddie, May 10, 2006.

  1. trickdaddie

    trickdaddie Official Transmogrification Technician

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    3,633
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    I have my thinkpad setup to work with dual monitors. I was wondering how to get a background to stretch so that it starts on the edge of the standalone monitor and ends on the other edge of the notebook screen. Does that make sense? I can't think of another way to explain it.
     
  2. bptillman

    bptillman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    your video card on your laptop might have a setting to stretch the wallpaper but if not, use ultramon
     
  3. trickdaddie

    trickdaddie Official Transmogrification Technician

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    3,633
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    When I set it for "stretch" it just stretches it independently on each screen.
     
  4. Jman

    Jman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    48,719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westchester/Ithaca, New York
    On the nvidia cards i've used you have the option for horizontal span vs dualview. Try horizontal span if there is something like that.
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    use ultramon. Worst case, open the background in pshop, stretch, then save as two halves, and assign each half to one monitor :)
     
  6. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    :werd: What he said.
     
  7. trickdaddie

    trickdaddie Official Transmogrification Technician

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    3,633
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    I tried to install ultramon but it says the installer doesn't have privledge to the folder "Shared wallpapers" and I need to log on as admin. I am the admin since I'm the only one using the computer.

    Also, how do I assign different wallpapers? I tried, but everytime I assign a wallpaper it does the same paper on each screen.
     
  8. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    You can't assign 2 different wallpapers without UltraMon. You can with nVidia cards, there is a setting for it in the Forceware control panel but it's not as good. It's some where under Desktop Management.

    The Horizonal Span means the desktop is spread over both montiors, make then act as one. The whole taskbar is on both monitors. The Start button on monitor1 and the clock on monitor2.
    UltraMon can sort of do the same, having a taskbar on both monitors but it works completely different.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Yea, we call it better ;)
     
  10. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Or simply make the image as big as the total size of the monitors (ie 2048 x 768) and make the wallpaper tiled instead of centred or stretched.
     

Share This Page