Question about UDP Traffic

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Freonthewhite, Sep 9, 2005.

  1. Freonthewhite

    Freonthewhite FrEoN OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,834
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I use a file sharing program whose Search option uses UDP, I need a way to convert traffic from UDP to TCP. I can however download a persons file list and browse and download that way because that part of the program functions on TCP ports.

    Is there any program like DC++ that uses TCP ports to search, or is there any way to convert a UDP thing to a TCP one using port forwarding perhaps??
     
  2. Freonthewhite

    Freonthewhite FrEoN OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,834
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New Jersey
  3. Freonthewhite

    Freonthewhite FrEoN OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,834
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Is there any way to Force a program to use a UDP port that's already being used? Or a way to find what application is using the port i want to use.

    The Netstat command now shows UDP ports but it won't tell me what programs are using them when i do, Netstat -b
     
  4. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    UDP cannot be converted to TCP. Two WAY different packets.
     
  5. Freonthewhite

    Freonthewhite FrEoN OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,834
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New Jersey
    ok so no conversion, i did a port scan and it appears some udp ports are open just being used, can i force a connection through a udp port that's being used??
     
  6. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    uhhh no, doesn't quite work like that.
     
  7. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,612
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    How can they block all UDP ports?

    DNS, VoIP, just about EVERY multiplayer game, etc would not work.
     
  8. Freonthewhite

    Freonthewhite FrEoN OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,834
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New Jersey
    when i did a normal port scan none of them turned up, but when i did a more thorough port scan i found about 20 of them, but every time i try ot send something through them it tells me that the port is already in use, and i can't find what's using it, i want to know what i can do about that, if i could just force another application to use the port even though it's being used
     
  9. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,612
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    How are you doing this port scan? Do you have host on the outside with every UDP port open then you are scanning it from the inside?
     
  10. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    i'm guessing he's a little confused about how networks work. If he's using DC++ or anyof those, they don't like NAT. The server tries to open a connection to the external ip, which is not forwarded, by any means, to his pc.
     
  11. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    to see what is using your ports, try fport or openports
     

Share This Page