A&P Question About RAW

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by PUREVIL, May 16, 2008.

  1. PUREVIL

    PUREVIL More Money Than Brains Croo

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    22,624
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Minot ND / Las Vegas NV
    I have a few questions and I'll try and keep it short.

    I have a Canon 30D and do I want to shoot in L+RAW or RAW?

    Also why is it when I shoot in RAW I cant do B&W? Lastly when I import RAW images into LR, LR automatically changes them slightly. Cuz for a brief second it loads then gets slighly darker. :dunno:

    Thanks!
     
  2. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    RAW, you can shoot RAW + jpeg, L jpeg is just one option, but really theres very little reason to shoot in RAW and jpeg
    Turning it into B&W would mean the camera is altering the image, which defeats the purpose of shooting RAW, meaning there is not edits to the photo done.
    Are you applying a preset at import? I always do so I don't remember what it looks like with it zeroed. But if you are applying a global preset, its just rendering the initial preview
     
  3. PUREVIL

    PUREVIL More Money Than Brains Croo

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    22,624
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Minot ND / Las Vegas NV
    Thanks for the reply.

    Im not applying any presets that I know of. Im just importing them off the CF, then when Im looking through them I notice that it loads up, then the image gets slightly darker. It does it on both my macs I notice. I dunno. oh well.
     
  4. kristin

    kristin my dog > *

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    It's just when it's loading the image. Whenever I've done it, it was backwards from you though; starts out really dark and saturated and then once it loads, it's rather bright and dull :dunno:
     
  5. TurkeyChicken

    TurkeyChicken New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    42,913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    I always shoot RAW+Jpeg simply for ease of loading the images. I can quickly tell what is crap and what isn't by viewing the jpegs.

    The unfortunate side effect of having a 3 year old laptop.

    Also, at work I use a PC :wtc: which doesn't know what the fuck a raw file is and won't display any thumbnails... so having the jpg is a must.
     
  6. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,134
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    east coast
    As long as you use Lightroom or PS to view and sort your images I see no reason to shoot anything in jpeg.
     
  7. PUREVIL

    PUREVIL More Money Than Brains Croo

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    22,624
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Minot ND / Las Vegas NV
    ok straight up raw dog it is!

    Ya I dunno why it does that.... its not a drastic night and day difference but it is noticable to me. But I will try and shoot raw only and ssee if its that. I noticed when I was trying out B&W in raw, it would load it as B&W then it would popped into color, hence why I asked why you couldn't shoot B&W in raw.
     
  8. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Or Photo Mechanic. View/Sort RAW files like its nothing. It works really fast.
     
  9. PUREVIL

    PUREVIL More Money Than Brains Croo

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    22,624
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Minot ND / Las Vegas NV
    OK and while we are here.... what does everyone use to reduce noise? Can you reduce noise in LR? I have PS CS3, but I never tired to reduce noise with it. Thanks, LOVE OTAP.... oh and I have many more questions but I'll wait. :big grin:
     
  10. kristin

    kristin my dog > *

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    It does it because it's loading :rofl:
     
  11. Dwight Schrute

    Dwight Schrute New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Raw files have embedded JPEGs, making raw + JPEG pretty much useless.
     
  12. Kirk Hinrich

    Kirk Hinrich New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    40,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brown Line
    The only time I ever shoot JPEG is for sports because the buffer on my 20D don't hold too many RAW files ya heard?
     
  13. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    MS has a powertoy for viewing RAW like jpeg, or you could use picasa
     
  14. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    spray and pray :mamoru:
     
  15. Kirk Hinrich

    Kirk Hinrich New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    40,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brown Line
    yeah nigga
     
  16. Kirk Hinrich

    Kirk Hinrich New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    40,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brown Line
    lol, but seriously
     
  17. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    You should use Digital Photo Professional to work with and convert RAW files. Only Canon's DPP knows exactly how to interpret the 30D's RAW information. All other programs are reverse engineered and really only guess at best.
     
  18. g33k

    g33k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    only problem is dpp's output blows :ugh:

    acr or go home
     
  19. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Negative Ghost Rider.

    DPP > ACR by far.
     
  20. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    :barf: DPP is fucking terrible. It may be the most accurate but for functionality it blows
     
  21. kristin

    kristin my dog > *

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    .
     
  22. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    What functionality do you need? Im not being a smartass..Im honestly curious. It does everything I need it to. I ingest everything into Photo Mechanic, sort it all out there, open them up in DPP, batch convert them while I make a sandwich, and then just work with them in CS3.
     
  23. g33k

    g33k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    acr just handles fine detail better than other programs
     
  24. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA

    See, I think DPP does better than ACR with detail and NR when you choose to use it.
     
  25. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    why use multiple programs that don't do as much? you're working too hard
     

Share This Page