Question about processors

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Penguin Man, Jul 20, 2003.

  1. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    OK, so I'm pricing out a new computer since mine is getting on the old side (ok, it's been on the old side for like 3 and a half years). So, I'd like to go with an AMD system, mostly because of price. So, here's my question:

    Will x86 versions of software run on an AMD system (say an XP 3000+)? This is important since most readily-available pre-compiled Linux stuff is x86, and while I usually compile my own stuff I would like to have the option of using binaries.

    TIA everyone :)
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    No, AMD and Intel are not compatible.

    You're kidding right?
     
  3. TerryMathews

    TerryMathews Guest

    The only binaries that would break are those compiled with iSSE2. Athlon XPs support all P4 instruction sets with the exception of that.

    Of course, no one actually compiles a binary for distribution with either that or 3dNow! as it breaks either one or the other processor.

    Note that there are ways to write a program so that it can follow a certain path if 3dNow/iSSE2 is supported or not. Some OSS programs have reached that level of sophistication. Most haven't.
     
  4. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I'm not kidding... Is that a serious answer? I pretty much know dick all about this kind of stuff.
     
  5. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    is amd x86? is intel x86?

    answer that and ull find ur answer :big grin:

    personally i'd wait till u get a AMD XP 64 bit, and then get gentoo and compile it in 64 bit since its supported :bigthumb:
     
  6. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    :confused: That's what I was asking...
     
  7. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Simply put, for all intensive purposes they run the same software. Yes there are minor differences but if it was significant AMD would be out of business.
     
  8. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    like prelude said, they are mostly the same.

    if ur compiling it shouldnt matter anyways.
     
  9. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Alright, thanks. So I guess I'll go with an AMD system then, I just needed to know this so that I can be sure that my x86 version of Linux (and any future x86 versions of Linux) will run on it :)
     
  10. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    yeah it will. i know gentoo can optimize for intel or amd :big grin:
     

Share This Page