Question about MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by friednanners, Jul 4, 2007.

  1. friednanners

    friednanners Sliver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    I'm pretty much 90% sure I want a Macbook Pro for my next computer, but have just a quick question about it. Will it be powerful enough to run music editing software, along with programs like Photoshop? I need a machine that can handle music editing and graphic design, will the Macbook Pro be enough to handle this? What kind of specs should it be running? Also one last thing, should I wait until Leopard to purchase it? Thanks.
     
  2. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas
    it should handle everything you want to do just fine.

    as for waiting, thats at your discretion. apple is always coming out with something new, so you could wait forever if you really wanted to.

    chances are, if you can afford a macbook pro, you can afford the 130 dollars to upgrade the OS when it comes out. or you can do like other unscrupulous individuals and download it for 'testing' purposes. :mamoru:
     
  3. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    One recommendation...

    Spring for one of the 7200 RPM drives and the 1920 x 1200 display on a 17" if you want to do audio editiing and photoshop to give you as much room to work as possible without having to be near an external display.

    The MBP's all come with 2GB RAM now, so that will likely do the trick for you. If not, save some cash and get some quality RAM from somewhere besides Apple.
     
  4. dstar

    dstar it's the motherfucking remix. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3,793
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Behind 2 1200s
    I have a 13" macbook, 2 ghz duo core, 2gb of RAM...all my audio editing shit is just great...work on it all day every day for music and never have a problem. as long as programs are intel mac compatible (which 99.9 percent are) you will blow through processes...shit is definitely fast.
     
  5. friednanners

    friednanners Sliver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC

    The whole upgrading thing was what I wasn't sure about. I'm a new mac user, so I'm not sure how apple handles OS upgrades. I'd definitely be willing to pay the 130 if that's all it will cost me.
     
  6. Ariez

    Ariez OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    64,044
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    Nue Yawk
    MBP is one of the most powerful laptop one can buy. So yes it will run everything just dandy.
     
  7. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ah. OS X upgrades are painless 99.9% of the time. No worries there.

    You can be the definition of anal and follow all these steps...

    http://www.index-site.com/upgradefaq.html#STEPS


    ...or you can just do like I have done with every system update since the initial release of OS X and only bother with steps 4 and 12 and you'll still be in that 99.9% so long as you make sure you leave the updates to do their thing and don't have any other apps running or your hands near the mouse or keyboard until the updates are complete.

    Also, just like any other OS, it also helps if you don't run a bunch of stuff that modifies the system.
     
  8. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    My MBP loves editting music, PSing graphics, and designing websites.

    All at the same time. While rendering 3D. And editing video. And drawing blueprints.

    If only I had 17" :(.. although they are so effing big to carry around.
     
  9. Tvan

    Tvan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    9,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    The new macbook pros should be able to do all of the music editing and photoshop that you need without any hiccups. I just picked up a new 2.4GHZ 15" and couldn't be any happier with it.
     
  10. awilke

    awilke Offtopic Deity

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm going to be picking up one soon, My bro has a G4 powerbook and I really like it.
     
  11. CornfordHellcat

    CornfordHellcat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I run Logic Pro 7 on my 15.4inch MBP, one thing i would say is i would prefer the 17inch as screen real estate is a must i find for programs like that.
     
  12. friednanners

    friednanners Sliver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    [FONT=Lucida Grande,Geneva,Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif]So this is what I've come up with, and it seems about right for what I need. Seem OK? Also, glossy or anti-glare screen? Some of the stuff is just so expensive, 150 bucks for an upgrade to 7200 drive?!? That's nuts. And 750 for and upgrade to 4 gigs of ram which is just crazy. Although the prices seem crazy, I definitely have to suck it up because of the field of work I want to get into, I need a Mac.

    Specifications
    [/FONT] [​IMG]
    • 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    • 2GB 667 DDR2 - 2x1GB SO-DIMMs
    • 160GB Serial ATA Drive @ 7200 rpm
    • SuperDrive 8x (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
    • MacBook Pro 17-inch High-Resolution Glossy Widescreen Display
    • Backlit Keyboard/Mac OS - U.S. English
    • iWork '06 preinstalled


      $3128 Total
     
  13. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas
    you can get the 4GB of RAM off crucials website for like 350
    i'd go with the matte if youre going to do photo editing. all the graphics guys on here say it gives you truer color.
     
  14. Twisted STi

    Twisted STi All wheel or no wheel OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    12,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got the same thing but with the matte display, and it's great.
     
  15. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    ++ for matte display

    looks like a weiner otherwise.
     

Share This Page