Question about Linux bootloaders

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by choler, Oct 9, 2003.

  1. choler

    choler New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have Windows XP and Suse dual boot setup on a machine ... the bootloader is setup in a way where it gives me option for loading into either Windows, Linux ...

    but now i want to add Windows 2003... is that going to fuck up the boot loader for me ??
     
  2. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Once you install Windows 2003 it should be fairly easy to add it to the bootloader, as long as you don't let Win2k3 install its bootloader over the Linux one. Even if you do that, as long as you have a boot disk to get you into Linux, you can re-install the Linux bootloader onto the MBR and then add 2k3.
     
  3. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden

    u can use the windows 2003 boot loader, thats what we did at school.

    had 2k (default install for all labs) our 2003 enterprise (for cis296 labs) and i went gentoo 1.4rc4 to test 2003 enterprise with a linux box. for cis296
     
  4. Joe_Cool

    Joe_Cool Never trust a woman or a government. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    299,486
    Likes Received:
    614
    Windows 2000 doesn't interfere with existing boot loaders. I loaded 2k on my laptop after installing linux, and it didn't overwrite lilo. All I had to do was add it to lilo.conf.

    So unless they intentionally broke it, I suspect 2003 would be the same way.
     
  5. ChosenGSR

    ChosenGSR Mama always said you'd be the chosen one

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    51,094
    Likes Received:
    241
    Location:
    HoCo, MD
    Yep, best way is to install win2k3 without a bootloader then add it to lilo :)
     
  6. choler

    choler New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    does Win2k3 give me an option for not installing its own boot loader or overright the one already there during the setup process?
     
  7. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I have no idea, having never installed 2k3, but according to the other posts in this thread you can.
     
  8. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    never saw the option when i installed enterprise... :dunno:
     

Share This Page