GUN Question about indoor ranges

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Hoodoo, Jul 31, 2006.

  1. Hoodoo

    Hoodoo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    10,032
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    If im 20, turning 21 in 18 days, how bad would it be for me to go to an indoor range and use a handgun that doesn't belong to me? Would they catch that i'm 20 and using a handgun or what.
     
  2. BigBadJohn

    BigBadJohn Pay-back time OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    21,272
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kell, Illinois
    Id say just wait the extra 18 days.
     
  3. Accord

    Accord New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    10,869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    I don't know what state you live in, but here in Florida you only need to be 18 years old to own and possess a handgun, you just simply can't buy from an FFL.
     
  4. Keesh

    Keesh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    15,333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Depends on the state. I can take a pistol with me wherever and I'm under 21.
     
  5. Platinum_Thunder

    Platinum_Thunder Reliability for life and liberty

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    108,907
    Likes Received:
    206
    I went to one in Indiana and you were required to be 21.
     
  6. WiLL

    WiLL Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bayarea
    Ranges around here dont check if the gun belongs to you.

    You have to be 21 in CA, but I know of 3 ranges that dont even check ID, but know of another that keeps the ID number in a log book.
     
  7. Want2race

    Want2race Fearless

    Joined:
    May 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia

    Same deal in GA
     
  8. Immortal1

    Immortal1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Masshole
    interesting. i don't suppose there would be a problem if the actual owner of the handgun is there. how is that any different from going to smith and wesson and paying to rent their guns. well i guess its different but same premise. if you plan to borrow it and drive with it to the range then that is a different story.
     
  9. striker754

    striker754 Chillin

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    16,198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Around
    depends on the range policy and state law.
     
  10. BigBadJohn

    BigBadJohn Pay-back time OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    21,272
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kell, Illinois
    Based on your first post, you arent allowed to own a handgun, I dont know any of the laws in your state, but if theres a law that says you have to be 21 to own a handgun, Im sure its against the law to be 20 and posess a handgun. If they notice how old you are which they probably will if they check your firearm ID (if you have one) they will also notice that you have a handgun. And most probably wont let you shoot

    Just to be safe, call the range ahead of time.
     
  11. Hoodoo

    Hoodoo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    10,032
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    Turns out that as long as your not a minor, 18 or less as defined by TN, you can transport a handgun, and the range said that I was good to shoot the handgun but they just weren't allowed to sell me ammo. It was an awesome range though, Guns and Leather in greenbrier TN. It was automated and you could program the moving targets. Good day today.
     

Share This Page