WEB Question about getting a dedicated server

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by JoeyJoJoJuniorShabadoo, Sep 28, 2007.

  1. JoeyJoJoJuniorShabadoo

    JoeyJoJoJuniorShabadoo Live Free or Die

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    4,347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    http://www.stogietime.com
    Do you usually have remote access to this server? Say to set up a service running on the server or something.
     
  2. drpepper

    drpepper Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    38,076
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Antonio
    yep. you get root access and rdp access on a windows machine.
    just double check with your provider.

    where were u planning on getting one?
     
  3. JoeyJoJoJuniorShabadoo

    JoeyJoJoJuniorShabadoo Live Free or Die

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    4,347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    http://www.stogietime.com
    thanks man.

    I haven't started to look yet, but I have an idea for a site that would also need a service running on a server that checks some data every minute or so, then runs jobs depending on info from user accounts and such.

    Got any ideas of where I might want to get one?
     
  4. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
  5. copiertalk

    copiertalk Secure Our Borders! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    west texas

    I have been with them a little over a year. Their guys know their stuff and I have never waited over 4 rings for them to pick up the phone.

    ( that one chick sounds hot too. )
     
  6. wyrmblight

    wyrmblight Tá m'árthach foluaineach lán d'eascanna OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mag Mell
    I would also recommend them. I've had them for a few years, many different servers over the years. Their support is always been great. Way better then the short 2 months I was with ThePlanet.
     
  7. autox

    autox OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    98,733
    Likes Received:
    434
    Ive been thinking about getting one, but they're still out of my price range. Theres nothing decen out there under $100/month is there?
     
  8. 420am

    420am OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,936
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin

    They're out there for around that believe it or not. Contact Matt Armour at openreaction.com and ask him what he can do for you. Tell him Jesse referred you and that you're from offtopic.com. I've been trying to get him to do some advertising here and that might help him with his decision to do so. It'll also get you a great server with really good support. I've only been there for a few weeks but I'm impressed so far. You can contact him at their sales email address. I believe a majority of their servers are located in the Atlanta NAP Datacenter. That's where mine is.

    Here's an example of a recent special.. albiet over the $100 mark.

    OpenReaction Basic 3400+
    AMD Sempron 64 3400+
    1GB DDR2 RAM
    160GB SATAII Hard Drive
    10Mbps Unmetered Connection
    Additional 1GB RAM: $69.99 One Time Fee (Preorder Offer Only)

    Purchase Option 1:
    Setup: $350
    Monthly Fee: $89.99
    No Contract

    Purchase Option 2:
    Setup: $29.99
    Monthly Fee: $109.99
    No Contract
     
  9. VD

    VD Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    71,510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TWIN CITIES
  10. JoeyJoJoJuniorShabadoo

    JoeyJoJoJuniorShabadoo Live Free or Die

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    4,347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    http://www.stogietime.com
    thanks for the suggestions guys
     
  11. autox

    autox OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    98,733
    Likes Received:
    434
    good speeds? (as in better than dreamhost?) My other concern is ease of use, the only thing other than price thats kept me with dreamhost for so long is the ease of use. Setting up everything I've needed with them has always been so simple
     
  12. Revad

    Revad Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saint Louis West County
    I use http://www.managemybox.com/

    $99

    • Core2Duo E6400
    • 1024MB DDR RAM
    • 120GB Hard Drive
    • 1500GB Bandwidth
    • 100Mbps Port
     
  13. VD

    VD Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    71,510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TWIN CITIES
    Running torrentflux on mine (and not having those ports monitored for trafic :naughty:) I can hit 1MB and still have all my sites load... :dunno:

    And as far as setup goes, when I initially got my server, I had jesse set up the nameserver crap.

    Now, adding a domain and all that crap is paaaaaaaaaaainfully simple, I actually almost prefer plesk over cpanel.
     
  14. autox

    autox OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    98,733
    Likes Received:
    434
    Ive really been hitting the limits of using a shared server I think. 10-20k pageviews per day on wordpress doesnt always work so well :hs: My problem is that I'm cheap
     
  15. VD

    VD Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    71,510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TWIN CITIES
    Yeah.... :werd:

    There are some mods you can do for wp to keep it from dying under load.

    I found something on google that helped my page survive a digg attack :dunno:
     
  16. autox

    autox OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    98,733
    Likes Received:
    434
    yea I know wp cache is supposed to help, but my site is updated so many times per day that I dont want my users missing updates because of the cache
     

Share This Page