Question about Garageband

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by nosnikliw0, Aug 17, 2006.

  1. nosnikliw0

    nosnikliw0 I am the cheese.

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Woodlands
    I want to buy an old and cheap Mac G3 solely for using Garageband. I know nothing about Macs and am just curious if OS 9 has Garageband and if I can get the latest version of Garageband running on OS 9. If not is it possible to install OS X on a G3? Also, is Garageband integrated with the OS or do you have to purchase and install it separately?

    Thanks for any and all help!
     
  2. nosnikliw0

    nosnikliw0 I am the cheese.

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Woodlands
    anyone?
     
  3. Deepsix

    Deepsix OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    19,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    its one of the most pirated pieces of mac software :dunno: shouldn't be too hard to get a hold of
    but i have no idea bout the rest of your questions
     
  4. dirteemac

    dirteemac hey, how are you?

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    1
    Seems like garageband, which came out a few years ago, could only run on osx. Also, it should run fine, on a computer like mine, a dual 867 g4, which could probably be had for pretty cheap these days.
     
  5. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    I think its os-x only, comes with the os however there is a newer version with more features which you can purchase (or pirate, if thats your thing), as well as add ons.

    You will want a pretty beefy G3 to run it, because it runs like ass on and old g4 (466) even with 1g ram.
     

Share This Page