Question about Copying DVD's

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by NVMY03GT, Nov 19, 2005.

  1. NVMY03GT

    NVMY03GT New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    So I'm curious, when you copy a DVD (One thats of course purchased ;) )

    Does the Dolby Digital 5.1, 6.1 also come over?

    Keep in mine Im just using Roxio to copy these so I wasn't sure if I had to do something special
     
  2. SeaMack99

    SeaMack99 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    36,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK/Belgium/Florida
    For me it has....but I use Nero7.
     
  3. NVMY03GT

    NVMY03GT New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Damnit I need to get a burner for my desktop, I have one for my laptop but being that its a work laptop installing Nero 7 isn't the smarted of things to do.
     
  4. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,088
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    depends, if you're doing a 1:1 copy, then you should get everything. If you use something dedicated to copying like DVD Shrink, you can specify which audio tracks to keep if you have to reduce the size of the image to make it fit a single layer disc.
     
  5. NVMY03GT

    NVMY03GT New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Good pt.. Well these are only single layered DVD's so its not dual media or anything.

    So you think if I plug it in to my DVD ROM and go into Roxio and hit copy, that I should be alright? I thought there was encryption on them and shit?
     
  6. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,736
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    dvdshrink and dvd decrypter totally rock, i've copied about over 100 dvds with them, no problem, best freeware ever
     
  7. NVMY03GT

    NVMY03GT New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Alright so I tried to Copy a DVD using Roxio and Nero - Both of which said the DVD was copy protected and could not be copied. Any other help guys?
     
  8. kv2

    kv2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cali
    dvd decrypter + dvd shrink
    :bigthumb:
     
  9. NVMY03GT

    NVMY03GT New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Do you lose Sound Quality?

    My Key interest is to keep the Dolby 5.1

    Also - Does DVD Shrink actually burn it to DVD?
     
  10. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,088
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    no
    yes.

    With dvd shrink, you can specify what to keep and what to not keep, so if you want to ditch the french and spanish 5.1 and the english DTS and keep only the english 5.1, you can.
     

Share This Page