MIL Question about AF OCS and non-technical degrees...

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Slipstream, May 8, 2006.

1. Slipstream

Slipstream New Member

Alright, so I graduated with a BBA (in Management Information Systems) a couple of years ago, and have since been working with some small businesses. I make a decent salary, and get to work with/around cars (basically data collection and distribution for car dealerships), but I don't feel like I'm accomplishing anything in life.

I'm considering joining the Air Force in order to make a difference both in my own life and to help protect the country that has given me so much. My father was a career AF officer, and my brother spent half a dozen years as an enlistee. Both entered the service with little direction, and left with excellent skills and a path in life.

My question is... How likely is it that I'd be selected for OCS with a non-technical degree? I'm not totally sure what I'd want to do, but probably something in the realm of operations management or battle management; I'm no engineer, flight surgeon, or fighter pilot. I've heard rumors that unless you graduated with an EE, ME, or CS degree, you're going to be fighting an uphill battle, and I refuse to go in as an enlistee (I don't want to throw my four year investment in a degree down the toilet). Any truth to this?

2. Slipstream

Slipstream New Member

And yes, I thought about talking to a recruiter, but I'd rather first ask people who are objective on helping, rather than, well, recruiting.

3. RecklessYouth

RecklessYouth godamnlurker