Question about adding RAM to a Dell

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by bsguy, Jul 23, 2005.

  1. bsguy

    bsguy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to buy a Dell Dimension 4700, but upgrading ram from 256 to 1gb is ridiculously expensive on the dell website. This is all the information it gives me: http://configure.us.dell.com/dellstore/config.aspx?c=us&cs=04&kc=6W300&l=en&oc=2d47w13&s=bsd

    256MB DDR2 SDRAM at 400MHz (1x256M)
    512MB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 400MHz (2x256M) [add $40]
    1GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 400MHz (2x512) [add $160]

    If I go out and buy ram, what kind of ram do I need to specify? PCxxxx? Does it have to be DDR2? Is DDR2 synonymous with Dual Channel?

    or

    Is Dell ram proprietary? :sad2:


    Also, does anyone know if this voids the warranty? Thanks :)
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  3. WannaZO6

    WannaZO6 There are 10 types of people in the world, the one

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    you can go to crucial.com and put in the model of your dell and they will tell you exactly what kind to buy.

    for dual channel to work you will have to ditch the 256 stick (ebay?) and just run the 2x512s in dual channel
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    or you could click my link and just get exactly what you need, and bypass the crucial junk that they try to overcharge you for :rolleyes:
     
  5. bsguy

    bsguy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    The dell website says 400MHz. The crucial website you gave says 533. Does it matter?
     
  6. Jkuao

    Jkuao New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    You have to buy DDR2 which is a newer memory design that still has some issues. 400 will work fine but doesn't leave any headroom later on if you put it into another box and try to overclock it. It's not significantly more so I'd just buy the 533Mhz stuff.

    I'm running 1.5GB (2 x 512 and 2 x 256) in my Dell 4700 and it's great for multi-tasking including running 3-4 Virtual PC's as well as a lot of memory intensive programs. It came w/ 512 and I bought a GB of Corsair Value Select online.

    Jollyogre's entitled to his opinion but I couldn't have built a Intel 915/P4-530 setup complete with 17" FP, 80GB SATA, and 512MB DDR2 for $600 shipped last year. I threw on an extra GB of RAM, 160GB secondary drive, 2nd 17" FP, nVidia PCIe card, and I've got a great multi-tasking system w/ a 4 year warranty that I spent less than $1200 in total on.

    It won't overclock or run games blazingly fast but since I've got a notebook, office PC w/ an almost identical setup (except it's in a workstation form factor), as well as a beater linux machine, I'm at the point where I don't see any additional benefit from trying to piece together an expensive machine since I don't really game. The case is cheap and it runs hot when I'm at full load but its exceedingly stable no matter how many programs I throw at it. I also have 3 more years to discover any cooling flaws without having to really pay for any damage.

    Personally, I'd take a look at the new 9100 if you can swing it. It's not much more and it has the newer chipset if you decide you want to switch to dual core in the future. It also has better cooling with a BTX case.
     
  7. bsguy

    bsguy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    JKuao, do you know if adding all that extra stuff voids the Dell warranty?
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    does not void the warranty.


    corsair > crucial.
     
  9. Jkuao

    Jkuao New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, it doesn't affect the warranty unless for some reason you put a screwdriver through your motherboard while upgrading...which actually is a possibility now that cheap Dell's are no longer tool-less. My Precision 370 is still completely tool-less though.
     
  10. WannaZO6

    WannaZO6 There are 10 types of people in the world, the one

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    you are awesome :bigthumb:
     

Share This Page