Question about a first time server box setup.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Chuang-tzu, Jun 25, 2009.

  1. Chuang-tzu

    Chuang-tzu New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In here and out there.
    Hi, I've been using and building my own computers since 1989. I've recently started to learn about web hosting, the programs, and the hardware involved. I've never done too much with networking outside of the Windows environment.

    I have an old eMachine eMonster 500 box with a 13 and 20 gig hard drive in it with a P3 500mhz cpu and 192 mb of ram.

    Here's my question, would this box be OK for me to setup as a server for my own personal practice? I have Verizon FIOS and plenty of IP addresses to utilize.

    I'm thinking of using http://www.centos.org/ or http://www.freebsd.org/ instead of http://www.redhat.com/ for this practice project. I want to get a little more familiar with cPanel, WHM, and secure FTP from both the user's end and the host's end.

    My 3 active systems that I use at home are Windows XP Pro SP3, Vista Ultimate SP2 and Win7 RC on AMD and Intel dual core systems. I would like to setup the box and network my other three systems into it and then use it to pre-test my website designs prior to uploading live to the web through a paid VPS of Dedi server.

    I use Dreamweaver and Frontpage 2003 for my web designs. I haven't used Word Press yet but want to experiment with it on this box.

    Will this box work or are the resources too old and limited for what I'm looking to do?

    Thanks in advance for your advice on this.


    Ct
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2009
  2. cp5184

    cp5184 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    the only hardware that might not be up for it is the ram, which you can fix. centos is basically free redhat. I'd go with centos as the easier route.
     
  3. Chuang-tzu

    Chuang-tzu New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In here and out there.
    Thanks for the reply cp5184.

    Unfortunately that board will only expand to 256 MB of memory. The amount of ram was my main concern. As long as I can load the OS and hold call commands in memory, I'm not too concerned about it's speed at this point. Looks like I might give it a go and if she crashes she crashes.

    Thanks for the confirming suggestion of the centos. I had figured that it would be OK to learn on before investing in Redhat and getting a license.

    Ct
     

Share This Page