Question about a few 600s

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by 127.0.0.1, Oct 5, 2005.

1. 127.0.0.1

127.0.0.1 New Member

between an F4i, ZX6R, GSX-R 600, and an R6
    ive been riding dirt bikes for two years or so, and will be taking the local MSF course before I do anything...but this is mainly a question of reliability, cost to repair, and approx what i should pay.

since its my first street bike, i would rather not spend anymore than $3000 (will most likely lay it down), but I dont really want to get a 250 katana, and be bored in a few months.

I do not know very much about older R6's or ZX6R's, my knowledge on them are mostly about the newer models.

I see there are plenty of each on cycle trader, as well as on ebay, but will I get a POS for that amount of money. (even if its a mid-late 90s model)

Thanks

2. ChatChai

ChatChai OT Supporter

I took the MSF course first and it helped alot. I have no experience in dirt bikes but a guy taking the MSF course also has been dirt biking all his life and he says that street bikes are much different. The only thing that may have helped was his confidence on the bike. For $3000 it will be kind of hard to find anything new as you may have already noticed. Depending on what you are looking for in a bike. Newer bikes will obvioulsy have its more technological advances such as fuel injected, upside down forks, 4 piston calipers etc... I started learning on a 636 and it was not hard at all picking it up especially after taking the MSF course. Best thing to do is to pick a bike that is comfortable and of course get the bike checked if you plan on going for a used bike.

3. Ivy Mike

Ivy Mike New Member

street and dirt are two very different animals.

I'd avoid a race replica as a first street bike. Find something more forgiving than the bikes you mentioned. The MSF is just a course that teaches the basics and not much else.