putting the hard drive in storage?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by fade, Dec 12, 2006.

  1. fade

    fade tie your shoe bitch

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    7,947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn Heights
    how will a hard drive react if it is not used for around 2 years?
    eg if put into a secure lock box

    :mamoru:
     
  2. èpic

    èpic aka modernlife

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    australia
    should be fine as long as it doesn't get hot or moved around
     
  3. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Make sure it's also in a static bag that normally comes with HDDs.
     
  4. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    silica gel is good.
    bubble wrap if the lockbox is going to be moved.
    avoid temperature fluctuations if possible. if not, insulate the hdd.
    avoid magnetic fields.
     
  5. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I have had hard drives that have sat for years that work just fine... just take the precautions already mentioned.
     
  6. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    oddly enough, i had a hard drive in storage with the above methods for a couple of months, when i plugged it in to check on it, it gave me the inaccessable corrupted message
    i don't view it in any system. tried it in an external, nothing
    ran spinrite on it, it came up fine

    i don't know what happened to it. maybe the fat got messed up somehow. it's only a year old and holds all backups of my stuff, good thing it's my secondary backup and my primary backups didn't fail at that time
     

Share This Page