Publishing Access Databases to the web?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DatacomGuy, Oct 12, 2004.

  1. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Possible to publish as a fully functional database with frontend, etc?

    I'm assuming with Frontpage...?
     
  2. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    yes with ASP or ASP.NET. Access 2003 has some export to ASP stuff, but I've never messed with it (won't let office write code for me).
     
  3. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I need to create a few web apps with access as the backend... ASP is perfect since my host (for now) has ASP support.

    I'm assuming I'll need to write my own frontend access pages..
     
  4. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Pretty much, yea. It's not really that hard. Just remember, open your connection, get your info, close your connections, then do whatever you are going to do with it. Also learn SQL, at least enough to do simple things like counting records (especially counting records!), getting only the info you need, Sorting, etc. Generally, it's faster that doing it in ASP. Of course, it is access.
     
  5. Joe_Cool

    Joe_Cool Never trust a woman or a government. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    299,338
    Likes Received:
    567
    Here's the best way:

    Step 1: Delete Access from your computer.
    Step 2: Use an SQL database server - preferably a GPL one like PostgreSQL or MySQL.
    Step 3: Use PHP or PERL.
    Step 4: Profit! :bigthumb:


    :mamoru:

    I make fun of access because I don't really know how to use it. :o
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Access is a *horrible* excuse for a web-db... go search on google for the differences between MySQL (free) and Access.... Prolly will make you want to use MySQL.

    But if you want to use a crappy db as your back end, that is easily done with ASP.

    www.asp101.com
     
  7. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    It's not so much as I "WANT" to use Access, it's that I have to for now since I don't have a host that supports PHP/mySQL. I'd much rather use that, but my host is a Windows-based host (brinkster) with support for ASP/Access instead.. so I work with what I got.

    Besides.. it's free, and I'm simply experimenting.
     
  8. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    :rofl::rofl::mamoru::o
     
  9. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI
    I have 500K hits a month on a website done completely with Access... Content, user information, transactions etc..

    Access is not the best option but does work, its only horrible when code is horrible. MySQL maybe free but if the ISP does not provide it its also worthless, and if your really serious PostgreSQL is more robust (and free)
     

Share This Page