PSU Help!!!11

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by fromthecold, May 9, 2005.

  1. fromthecold

    fromthecold OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nyc
    hey

    my system has been locking up on me lately when I run full screen apps, mostly games like CS:S and DOOM3 HL2, etc

    I think there might be an issue with the PSU
    I dont really know what else it could be

    so i think im gunna buy a new PSU
    lookin to spend 80-100$ CAN
    maybe a new case 2

    is active PCF all that good?

    btw
    specs on request.... dont wanna type em for nothing :hsd:
     
  2. fromthecold

    fromthecold OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nyc
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    well, specs will be required. Could be the PSU, but more likely a heat/video card/driver issue.

    But try the PSU first.

    I would go with Enermax/Sparkle/Fortron. Stay away from Antec. I can't recommend a model without knowing your system specs.
     
  4. fromthecold

    fromthecold OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nyc
    well
    i didnt think it was a vid card issue cuz there isnt any terring or pixeling, it just locks
    but i dont know

    specs
    powermax model LP-9900D 400W PSU
    AMD 64 3200+ socket 746
    shuttle AN50R mobo
    2X 80GB seagate sata HDs
    ATI AIW 9600XT vid card
    2x512MB Ultra PC3200 400mHz Ram ( i know, shitty, but i get 2,3,8,2.5 so....)
    and some cd/dvd drives
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I'd check the video card for any missing capacitors -- especially in the lower right-hand corner, by the "lock" mechanism for the AGP slot. That card is notorious for locking up in gamming due to it's poor placement of capacitors... They get knocked off when you arn't especially careful seating and removing the agp card.
     
  6. fromthecold

    fromthecold OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nyc
    really? wow
    sounds serious..... How would I know if they have been knocked off? Just soldered spots with no capacitor on them?

    btw, thanks for the info:wavey:
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    take a pic and I can tell you for sure... but yes, look at the card and see if something appears missing.
     
  8. fromthecold

    fromthecold OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nyc
    aight
    uploading...
     
  9. fromthecold

    fromthecold OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nyc
    i know they suck, but i couldnt get my camera in there good without takin out hte card......

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    the one of the case shows u the ghettoness of it hah
    no front bottom intake....
     
  10. fromthecold

    fromthecold OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nyc
    btw

    this comes up sometimes
    [​IMG]

    but usually it just locks and I have to restart


    and I dont know if its related, but sometimes when I turn it on, after unplugging it or it freezing, it hangs on the bios boot screen either when its showing the processor, or the memory.
    to fix it i usually have to unplug it and wait a couple min and try it a couple times... kinda fuct
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    download and run a memtest... preferably the one from microsoft that you have to boot to.
     
  12. perry

    perry burp

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    6,400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cornfields of Indiana
    :werd: sounds like a memory problem, not a power supply problem. Make a boot disk w/ Memtest86+ on it and check your memory. http://www.memtest.org/#downiso Leave it running for a few hours.. it can sometimes take a while for memtest to pop up with errors.
     
  13. fromthecold

    fromthecold OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nyc
    funny enough, I did that already

    And I let it run for a couple hours and no errors came up.....

    unless the problem is the vid card mem :dunno:
     
  14. fromthecold

    fromthecold OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nyc
  15. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    possible.... swap cards.
     
  16. fromthecold

    fromthecold OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nyc
    aight

    ill give that a try
     

Share This Page