PSU: Corsair HX-620 installing on Gigabyte 965p-DS3 problem

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Movendi, Jun 22, 2007.

  1. Movendi

    Movendi Techno-süchtige

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    12,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver B.C
    I've got some problem hooking up a Corsair hx-620w power supply to a gigabyte 965p-ds3 motherboard.

    On the gigabyte manual it says:
    (It never had a cover on either connector)

    However on the Corsair PSU manual it says:

    Followed by a warning directly underneath
    The DS3 has an ATX_12V (4-pin) and ATX (24-pin). According to gigabyte manual i can just use the 24-pin power connector. But corsair manual it's hard to understand because it says i can just go ahead and directly connect 24-pin main power, but it also says if the mobo has a 4-pin +12V socket, connect to it. But the warning underneath contradicts what it just said so i'm not sure what to do.


    If any corsair hx620 owners can shed some light that'd be fantastic. Especially for the Gigabyte-965p-DS3
     
  2. johan

    johan Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sahasrara; magnetic violet infinite
    what is the problem exactly?

    I have the same psu and mobo.

    Youre making this a lot harder than it actually is.

    Go ahead and plug in the 24 pin atx connector directly off the 620 and into your mobo. (as per step 5 on the mobo diag).

    simple.
     
  3. Movendi

    Movendi Techno-süchtige

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    12,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver B.C
    So nothing should be connected to the CPU 4-pin socket?
     
  4. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    You need to connect the 4-pin "P4" connector from the PSU to the 4-pin socket on the motherboard. The 4-pin piece that can be detached from the main power connector is NOT the P4 connector. According to what you posted, your PSU has 20+4pin, 4pin and 8pin connectors. You need to use all 24 pins on the main connector in addition to the separate 4-pin P4 connector.
     
  5. Movendi

    Movendi Techno-süchtige

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    12,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver B.C
    Let's get this clear:

    24pin cable connects to 24pin socket

    AND

    4 pin cable (which is not modular) but also seperate from 24 pin joint cable, connects to the 4pin 12V socket.

    EG:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2007

Share This Page