PS3 getting DNS error constantly...help?

Discussion in 'Gamers' Pulse' started by hellodon, Jun 3, 2009.

  1. hellodon

    hellodon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure what's going on here..kinda came out of nowhere. I turn it on and instantly it says there is a DNS error. Can't connect to anything online...every other device in my house is fine. This has been happening for a week or so. Last thing I got online was the infamous demo...so this is recent. Nothing changed with my network lately. I've tried resetting the router a couple times. It recognizes and connects to the router but the connection then fails.

    Anyone run into this? Not sure what to try...any help would be greatly appreciated! TIA
     
  2. whippet_1

    whippet_1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    17,039
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    T dot
    are u just trying to reconnect every time?

    or are u trying to re-configure from scratch
     
  3. hellodon

    hellodon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went through and reconfigured...just to make sure everything was cool. Did the easy setup first, recognized my router and re-entered the wep key. It gets the router then the Internet connect fails.

    Tried the detailed setup and it allows you to auto choose your ip and DNS or manually configure. I chose auto...not sure where I would find DNS numbers for the ps3 to try manually configuring. Just seems odd...it's not an issue with my router or everything would be having it, and it can't be a wireless prob with the ps3 or it wouldn't find the router. Def a DNS setting issue just like it's saying but I don't know what to change or manually enter to fix it. Hmm
     
  4. hellodon

    hellodon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found some post on the ps boards that gave some manual DNS numbers, tried them and it worked so I'm all set (and downloading ff7, to sit and collect dust on my hard drive like my real copy collects dust in a box haha)
     
  5. FunkyMunniez

    FunkyMunniez Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17,918
    Likes Received:
    1
    little late but i get these alot. check the dns error # with things on the PS boards and you can generally fix it pretty easily.
     
  6. huangsta

    huangsta OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Taipei, Taiwan
    i've been having this problem also
     
  7. Boing

    Boing OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    58,787
    Likes Received:
    143
    4.2.2.1
    4.2.2.2

    ^
    DNS settings that should work anywhere
     
  8. JakobwithaK

    JakobwithaK Titty fuck for the win!

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    22,198
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Calgary
    I had this problem too, but once i got a new router the problem went away. I had the linksys WRT54G and apparently theres big issues with PSNand this router.
     
  9. STVITAL4LIFE

    STVITAL4LIFE New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting. I have the same router and error.
     
  10. Skyline22GTR

    Skyline22GTR OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    9,080
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Orlando
    Thats me too and I keep having this error. I will try the fix hope it works.
     
  11. DaninTexas

    DaninTexas OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,232
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    My 360 and PS3 used to lock the router up when they connected to mine. Got a new netgear and haven't had one issue yet
     
  12. Chitown B

    Chitown B Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    27,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chicago, il
    • 208.67.222.222
    • 208.67.220.220
    OpenDNS FTW
     
  13. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    My PS3 has always been as slow as fuck online (internet and PSN) but I've never had DNS issues.
     
  14. Skyline22GTR

    Skyline22GTR OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    9,080
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Orlando
    I changed my settings according to this and it works perfect everytime now.
     
  15. kaldurak

    kaldurak Gimme some sugar baby.

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    36,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA


    :werd: I never get any errors, but downloading on PSN is slow as fucking all get out.
     
  16. DaninTexas

    DaninTexas OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,232
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    PSN was slow as hell when it decided to work for me. Since switching to my netgear though I haven't had any issues. Took me about 15 min or so to download the demo for Infamous. Not sure on the size of that.

    before normal patches for games took me like a freakin hour.
     
  17. Boing

    Boing OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    58,787
    Likes Received:
    143
    :h5:
     
  18. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I have the problem you used to have. I downloaded the infamouse demo the other day and it took several hours :ugh:

    I've tried different routers though and mine still sucks :mad:
     
  19. juice4624

    juice4624 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    VA
    word that sucks I find the wireless on my ps3 is crap and barley can hold a stable connection so if i want to go online i have to hook it up directly with a cable
     
  20. hellodon

    hellodon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is actually what i ended up using and it worked perfectly!
     
  21. Skyline22GTR

    Skyline22GTR OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    9,080
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Orlando
    i had to switch to a wired connection to to play fifa 09 online. If I used the wireless it just lagged to much at certain points.
     
  22. Chitown B

    Chitown B Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    27,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chicago, il
    :bigthumb:
     
  23. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine suck with both. Although the wired is slighly faster it is still slow as fuck - I think mine is just faulty because it's always been like this.
     

Share This Page