PS3 crew, I have an hdd question for you

Discussion in 'Gamers' Pulse' started by Victor Nightingale, Dec 23, 2009.

  1. Victor Nightingale

    Victor Nightingale New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,769
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
    How large of a HDD can a ps3 recognize?

    I'm looking to store lots of HD video on it and the 40 gigs isn't cutting it anymore. I know it needs to be a 2.5 SATA and I know how to back up all y saves and stuff but just gotta figure out which hdd to buy.

    And how I get the ps3 os back onto the new one...
     
  2. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    no limit
     
  3. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    As long as it's a 2.5" drive, I'm pretty sure you can use any of them. Not sure if it has to be 5400RPM or if it can be 7200RPM. I'm pretty sure you don't get any benefits from a 7200RPM drive due to the firmware though.
     
  4. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    yeah this
     
  5. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    7200 is probably only slightly faster, but it will definitely be hotter

    get a 5400, it's cheaper
     
  6. Victor Nightingale

    Victor Nightingale New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,769
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
    1.5tb 5400 internal loaded with HD tv seasons here I come!

    :bowdown: GP
     
  7. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    holy fucking overkill :rofl:
     
  8. Victor Nightingale

    Victor Nightingale New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,769
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
    fuck yea. Load that fucker up with HD 30 Rock, Dexter, The Wire, all kinds of shit.

    Comcast is gonna hate me next month
     
  9. marcu5

    marcu5 not worry friend. i do not grudge.

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    91,329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Amsterdam, California
    500gb here on my media hub ps3
     
  10. stkorn97

    stkorn97 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    19,649
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    St. Charles, IL
    120 gig with a 250 gig waiting to go in when i run outta room on this one
     
  11. beez

    beez New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    19,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Queens
    I have a 60gb and just use PS3 Media Server on my desktop machine for all my PS3 media needs.

    Overall I prefer Boxee to the PS3 for media of any kind. Not sure if that's an option for you but if it is I think it might be worth looking into as an alternative.
     
  12. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    What HD file formats other than .mkv are there? :o I can't watch any of my HD videos natively on my PS3, always have to stream :(
     
  13. Frank White

    Frank White Through thick and thin... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,847
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Dirty Jerz
    mkv2vob

    thank me later
     
  14. Rivers

    Rivers THROW AWAY LOGIC AND KICK REASON TO THE CURB

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    5,274
    Likes Received:
    0
    this.
     
  15. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    Interesting... will check it out and give it a try :hs: Thanks for the info
     
  16. georgexi

    georgexi o.O OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    console media-players ftl
    HTPC ftw
     
  17. blackrat

    blackrat OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    thought the limit was 500gb.
     
  18. LBFilmGuy

    LBFilmGuy LOL why u mad tho?

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    56,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
  19. dealwithit

    dealwithit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    32,212
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Vancouver
    nice :rofl: what hdd did you buy?
     
  20. JasonKnight

    JasonKnight OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    6,710
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Reading, PA
    Umm... gotta remember the PS3 can not play ALL types of media format, hose MKV's that you find high def movies in will not work you have to stream them with PS3 Media Server

    Do what I did, get a 300-500gb HDD for the PS3 and a 1TB HDD connected externally to your PC and stream the media.

    or this
     
  21. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Will be testing this tonight... thanks.
     

Share This Page