A&P Properly Importing in lightroom

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by fukijama1, Sep 28, 2009.

  1. fukijama1

    fukijama1 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    is there a "proper" way to import in lightroom. i have always just drag n drop from windows explorer the ones i wanted to edit. is there a way so when it catalogs it only shows the edited copy? and when it catalogs it doesnt save an individual file right? just a catalog file with those images that are opened in lightroom correct?
     
  2. isaac86hatch

    isaac86hatch This thread sucks

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    27,892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Another satisfied LR customer.
     
  3. EWhytsell

    EWhytsell New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    I decided I'd just use the darn thing for my last clients editing no matter what and I've gotten the basics down now.

    I also found that if you just don't think about it and let LR do its stupid way of doing things it works out. Unfortunately I've never felt so in the dark or so much like an end user in my life.
     
  4. GlobeGuy

    GlobeGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    I personally use import command (ctrl+alt+i) to import all the photos in one folder.

    That works the best for MY workflow. You will have experiment and see what works for you.
     
  5. alexromo

    alexromo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wahiawa
    what the fuck is this supposed to mean?
     
  6. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    its a Digital Asset Management besides a photo editor, so let it import all your photos and catalog them, keyword etc.
     
  7. isaac86hatch

    isaac86hatch This thread sucks

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    27,892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    It means LR is the most stupidly overcomplicated piece of software Adobe makes. fuck
     
  8. Bukka

    Bukka Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    I find it a million times easier to use than Photoshop.
     
  9. isaac86hatch

    isaac86hatch This thread sucks

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    27,892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    I don't use photoshop at all for photos usually. I just go from Bridge to ACR then save JPG or Tiff. Easy breezy. I just wish it was easier for people not wanting the image management part. Just feels like a iPhoto with more sliders to me.
     
  10. aCab

    aCab New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    18,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicaaago
    everything Adobe makes is overly complicated, save for maybe Adobe Elements and Bridge
     
  11. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,114
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    east coast
    If an old man like me can embrace LR and love it, you should be able to master it.
     
  12. isaac86hatch

    isaac86hatch This thread sucks

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    27,892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    I know it in and out. I just don't like it or need it. I'm not crotchety about it; it just does not fit my workflow at all.
     

Share This Page