Problems synching my iPod Shuffle to two different computers.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by cantankerously, Feb 28, 2005.

  1. cantankerously

    cantankerously Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    61,519
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I usually sync my Shuffle to my PC desktop using iTunes, but whenever i plug it into my iBook, iTunes opens and it asks me whether i want to point the iPod to my laptop iTunes and change my Shuffle library to the one on my iBook. If i select no it automatically ejects my Shuffle.

    Is there any way to disable this auto check?
     
  2. Bolicious

    Bolicious Handleobraese

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2000
    Messages:
    43,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    Did you format it on the Mac or PC?
     
  3. cantankerously

    cantankerously Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    61,519
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Mac i believe.
     
  4. Raddiux

    Raddiux Guest

    As far as i've read on the Apple support forums, its only possible to have your Shuffle synced to a single iTunes library at a time.

    The shuffle is always formated in FAT32 (windows) instead of Mac, so thats not the problem.
     
  5. cantankerously

    cantankerously Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    61,519
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I don't care that it won't sync up with my iTunes library. But when i tell it i don't want it to sync, it automatically ejects my Shuffle as a flash drive.
     
  6. cantankerously

    cantankerously Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    61,519
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    South Carolina
    My PC recognizes it fine.
     
  7. Raddiux

    Raddiux Guest

    If you disable iTunes from starting up when you plug in an iPod, you should be able to use it just fine. It appears correctly in windows explorer for me, even though its not synced to the iTunes on my windows PC (its synced to my mac). I do not have iTunes running when I plug in my Shuffle, and I have iPodhelper.exe (or whatever that crap is that runs in task manager) disabled.
     

Share This Page