A&P Problems Importing RAW Images Into LR

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by PUREVIL, Nov 8, 2009.

  1. PUREVIL

    PUREVIL More Money Than Brains Croo

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    22,622
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Minot ND / Las Vegas NV
    I just got my 7D yesterday, upgraded from a 40D, and I noticed it will not import RAW images in LR... any idea why? So i switched it to RAW+JPG and it wont import the JPGs too. If I just shoot in JPG mode it will import the images. In the preferences it says it supports raw 5.4 and later and im running version 2.4 of LR
     
  2. legendr34

    legendr34 Titanium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    4,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
  3. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    well there ya go. I'm running 3.0 beta and its fine
     
  4. PUREVIL

    PUREVIL More Money Than Brains Croo

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    22,622
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Minot ND / Las Vegas NV
    k im going to do the update.... i guess I didn't even think about updating hahaha long night last night lol
     
  5. isaac86hatch

    isaac86hatch This thread sucks

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    27,892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Don't expect miracles. The beta, pre-beta and "unofficially supported" software make the 7D files look kinda bad. LR 3 files are ok, ACR 5.5 files look awful and same goes with DNG converter. I had a chat with the folks at Adobe about this and they are working frantically to get the 5.6 Retail engine out for ACR and for LR3 retail. So far the only files that I have been satisfied with have been from Canon's DPP, which is fucking horrible to use. I am struggling to get through like 20GBs of files because nothing is working. Oh yeah, don't shoot sRAW or mRAW as nothing is playing well with them except DPP.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2009
  6. PUREVIL

    PUREVIL More Money Than Brains Croo

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    22,622
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Minot ND / Las Vegas NV
    So just shoot RAW and - for JPG?

    I did the update and the pics imported and look OK, but im a shitty photographer so I wouldn't know bad from good LOL
     
  7. isaac86hatch

    isaac86hatch This thread sucks

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    27,892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Yeah, full RAW or JPG only. For comparison, install the Canon software and compare color, noise and sharpness. It's worlds apart on my computer.
     
  8. Wobistdu

    Wobistdu Guest

    will LR3 be much diff than 2?
     
  9. isaac86hatch

    isaac86hatch This thread sucks

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    27,892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    download it and see. www.adobelabs.com
     
  10. Wobistdu

    Wobistdu Guest

    oooooooh nice
     

Share This Page