problems connecting to wireless network

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Atmosphere, Oct 2, 2007.

  1. Atmosphere

    Atmosphere PURPLE DREAM

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    111,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lollyfornia
    i suddenly haven't been able to connect to my (secured) wireless network. when i try to connect, the windows wireless network connection keeps saying that it's "Acquiring network address", then stops, tries again, stops, tries again, etc.

    [​IMG]

    however, my roommate can connect to our wireless network with her laptop

    help computah :hs:
     
  2. devguru616

    devguru616 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can try this, might help.

    click start -> run
    Enter "cmd",
    ipconfig /flushdns
    ipconfig /release
    ipconfig /renew

    If not then, try to re-enter the password key in the wireless networks manager and try to redo the connection.
     
  3. Atmosphere

    Atmosphere PURPLE DREAM

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    111,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lollyfornia
    i found that solution on google and that didn't work


    i tried reentering my password key in the wireless network manager too multiple times, but to no avail


    i found several threads in various forums with people encountering the exact same problem, but i still can't find a solution :mad:
     
  4. BOTLD92Z

    BOTLD92Z OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter springs, fl
    login to the router and verify the network key you have written down vs. what is in the router's config.

    it doesn't stop trying to acquire, it just continously loops through it? never seen that. typically if it's a security key issue it will attempt and then fail and windows issues itself an invalid (169.254.x.x) ip address. :dunno:
     
  5. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Can you plug in with a cable to make sure it works on your PC?

    If you are getting a 169.254.xxx.xxx address, DHCP failed.

    Like said above you should be able to delete the wireless network from your machine and re-set it up.

    You can also temporarily disable the wireless security to rule that out.
     
  6. Atmosphere

    Atmosphere PURPLE DREAM

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    111,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lollyfornia
    the thing is, i can't even connect to unsecured wireless networks either

    yup, it just continuously loops trying to acquire an IP address, over and over and over again
     
  7. Atmosphere

    Atmosphere PURPLE DREAM

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    111,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lollyfornia
    yup, i get connection if i connect it directly from the modem to computer, but not from modem to router to computer (hardwired)


    however, as i mentioned, i can't even connect to the unsecured wireless networks around me
     
  8. devguru616

    devguru616 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Probably an issue with the driver for the card or something of the sort.

    Right click "My computer"
    Click Properties
    Click Hardware, then Device Manager

    Find your wireless card in there, probably under network adapters,
    right click on it,
    uninstall it completely, then reboot and reinstall and try to reconnect to the wireless. If that doesn't work card my be shot.

    Erm also forgot but before you remove the device here, uninstall any software that might be related to it, so as it is completely removed and fully reinstalled.

    Also, even if you have a CD, i would recommend getting the latest drivers from the manufacturers website, and even a firmware update if your up to it...

    Good luck
     
  9. Atmosphere

    Atmosphere PURPLE DREAM

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    111,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lollyfornia
    i've tried all of that, actually :hs:

    uninstalled software/driver, removed wireless card, reinstalled driver, reinstalled card, update firmware...and still no worky :hs:
     
  10. midcalbrew

    midcalbrew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MidCal
    OK, just to get it out of the way, go to Control Panel->Administrative Tools->Services. Find DHCP Client. Make sure it is set to automatic and is running.
     
  11. devguru616

    devguru616 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    If its an external card try it in someone else's computer and see if it works there, to determine if the card is bad or if its a setting.
     
  12. Atmosphere

    Atmosphere PURPLE DREAM

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    111,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lollyfornia
    yup, it's set on automatic and it's running :\
     
  13. Atmosphere

    Atmosphere PURPLE DREAM

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    111,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lollyfornia
    the thing is that lots of other people are having this problem too from what i've googled, but no solutions as of now :hs:

    anybody have an idea how to disable the windows wireless autodetect so i can use the software that came with my card? maybe there's a conflict between the two...
     
  14. D3aC0n

    D3aC0n Vesa ToskaLOL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    37,281
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Toronto
    start -> run -> services.msc

    search for wireless zero configuration and disable it.
     
  15. BOTLD92Z

    BOTLD92Z OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter springs, fl
    any particular reason? (and i'm not trying to insult you. just never heard of it causing this problem.)
     
  16. Atmosphere

    Atmosphere PURPLE DREAM

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    111,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lollyfornia
    given everything i've tried, i'm willing to try anything :hs:
     
  17. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    what's your os? xp sp2?
     
  18. Atmosphere

    Atmosphere PURPLE DREAM

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    111,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lollyfornia
    xp sp2
     
  19. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    This is a long shot,... but corrupted winsock does cause the "acquiring network address" loops.

    Have you tried this fix?
    http://windowsxp.mvps.org/winsock.htm
     
  20. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Good point... That could be it since the OP said the hardwire doesn't work either.
     
  21. Atmosphere

    Atmosphere PURPLE DREAM

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    111,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lollyfornia
    thanks! i'll try this first thing when i get home :h5:

    i'll let you know how it goes
     
  22. Atmosphere

    Atmosphere PURPLE DREAM

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    111,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lollyfornia
    still no luck with that fix :sad2:
     
  23. DittoAlex

    DittoAlex New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    53,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    First, disable encryption and see if that helps.
     
  24. ParTyBoy

    ParTyBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    29,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Basin City
    Call laptop manufacturer, replace wireless card under warranty.. :dunno:
     
  25. DittoAlex

    DittoAlex New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    53,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Unplug the power from your router, wait 30 seconds, plug the power back in.

    Just to make sure it's not being silly.
     

Share This Page