SRS Problems at Work, could use some help *long* **cliffs**

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by JJJZJ, Mar 7, 2008.

1. JJJZJ

JJJZJ Feed Me A Stray Cat

Disclaimer - Long Read, but I did it intentionally to add some dynamic to my work situation, because for me this problem is not very black and white. I added pics at the bottom because I know I like pics, so I assume you guys do to.... Thanks For the Help!! :cool:

Background on myself

I am 24 years old, graduated from University of Utah where I majored in Urban Planning.
    I graduated in May 06 and moved back to my hometown just north of Chicago to be closer to my family and for the new job I took.

Background on my job

I work for a custom home building business. The only two real employees are my boss and myself. We work as real estate developers and are the project managers for all the work we do.

I had no real experience in building so the last two years has been a lot of trial and error and my boss teaching me a lot and putting up with a lot. I finally feel as if I am “getting it” and am becoming rather proficient at my job, but not to the point where I have reached the end of the learning curve with my job. I feel what I have learned has given me a greater appreciation for the workplace and taught me things college never could have and this is why I am so loyal to my boss, he took a chance hiring me really.

Now I’ll speak of how my job actually stacks up:

Compensation:
    I was to be hired on as an independent contractor. This works out great for employers as they don’t have to contribute to paying any portion of my taxes, health care, or retirement in any way.
    The way we talked about it my compensation started out as follows:
    $30,000 a year starting
    cell phone bill paid for ~$150 a month
    gas/vehicle stipend of ~$150 a month.

Pros:
    • Being able to work easy hours. (9 – 4 usually)
    • Driving around in my car most of the time listening to music and I am not confined to an office