Problem with Norton Internet Security 2005

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by bleak, Feb 28, 2005.

  1. bleak

    bleak Guest

    I installed Norton Internet Security 2005, which came bundled with my motherboard, on my new machine. Everything seemed to be working "ok", until I logged into the guest account to check things out. Once logged in, Windows Installer through out a message that said "Preparing to install...", which was then followed by an error message from Norton that read "Norton Internet Security 2005 does not support the repair feature. Please uninstall and reinstall.". And now it does the same thing when I log into my own [administrator] account.

    Does anybody have any idea what it's trying to install, or what it's doing, and maybe how to fix it?

    Further information:

    Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe motherboard
    1GB RAM
    3x 250GB Western Digital SATA HD
    Windows XP Pro w/ SP2 (stand alone machine, not connected to a server)
     
  2. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Have you tried to go into the control panel to un-install it?

    There's also a lot of good info on the Symantec Knowledge Base.
     
  3. bleak

    bleak Guest

    Yes, I tried the "uninstall and reinstall" suggestion it gave me. Same thing happened again upon reinstallation: everything works fine until you log into the guest account, it then brings up the "preparing to install..." stuff and the Norton error on both accounts (guest and admin).
     
  4. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI
    Step 1: Do not have your user account as Admin.
    Step 2: Goto www.grisoft.com install AVG
    Step 3: uninstall and discard any Norton you have not payed for**.
    Step 4: Isn't this where I should say profit?

    Unless your a business have any purchased Norton disk on your wall to remind of the money you wasted.

    With SP2, MS firewall, AVG and a Firefox (or any browser other than IE) you DO NOT NEED THE Internet Security crap... (and I am not a fan of MS's firewall or service packs, but I am a fan of not wasting money on Norton.)
     
  5. bleak

    bleak Guest

    Step 1: I follow this procedure on all my *nix installations but, on Windows, I just don't care.
    Step 2 - 4: I think I'll try this. Thanks!
     
  6. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI

    But you care enough to load Norton Security junk????
     
  7. bleak

    bleak Guest

    Yeah, it's a weird quirk :dunno:
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Actually Norton is the anti-christ... If you care about security at all, you wouldn't touch it. In fact, I think you have to want to bork your box to go near that crap.
     
  9. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    See, the funny part about software firewalls is that the packet already has reached your computer, and is being verified by Norton. Guess what, if someone wanted to bypass your S/W firewall, a little bit of TCP packet maniupulation (which is allowed by the protocol), and your Norton Firewall won't detect anything.
     
  10. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI
    Now I would not go that far. Note I said if your not running a business Norton is worthless. But if you follow license to the letter and have many machines (600+/- in my case) Norton is a good thing. Or atleast with 600 machines that already have Norton loaded its not worth changing. (We rotate or add about 200 a year. And I have never had a machine borked by Norton)

    You make that sound a hell of a lot easier than it really is, but in theory you are correct. Which is why I mentioned it was a crap. MS's Firewall will do just as good as Norton and in theory MS's firewall should be able to catch the bit switch you mention... (I did say theory!!)
     
  11. bleak

    bleak Guest

    I installed Norton mostly for the virus scanner; the firewall was just part of the package. Anyway, I'm currently looking into AVG and will probably dump Norton.
     
  12. Sonar_un

    Sonar_un Prowler Orange

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY
    AVG is pretty damn good for being free. Norton and Mcafee have proven their worthlesness time and time again. I do this for a living and I find systems infected with all kinds of viruses with completely updated versions of both softwares. AVG + Housecall do a damn good job of removing the shit that Norton and Mcafee failed to find.

    Free wins over for Profit companies..
     
  13. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    tpc/ip stack manipulation isnt _THAT_ hard. just need to know C, and what you are doing. We are going over it right now in my linux admin class. part of a security module.
     
  14. R-Type

    R-Type The Bydo Empire must die!

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    The ONLY useful thing about NIS I can think of is the popup/ad blocker..it is quite good. symantec bought out the outfit that wrote @guard (if you remember that util). It's too bad one can't just install that one add-on without all the other crap.
     
  15. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    just use sp2... problem solved. :mamoru:
     
  16. R-Type

    R-Type The Bydo Empire must die!

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    the blocker in sp2 pales in comparison..
     
  17. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI
    Switching a big in a TCP/IP packet is not hard, its actually doing anything with it is the hard part.
     
  18. Little Spunky $#!T

    Little Spunky $#!T :cool:

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    3,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    I get several customers with this problem, I hate NIS :rant:
     
  19. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    true; however, if the computer has excess services running :drool:.
     

Share This Page