SRS Problem with former employer

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by t-t-t-today, Dec 10, 2008.

1. t-t-t-today

t-t-t-today New Member

I used to be a tow truck driver. I damaged 2 customers vehicles by complete accident. The owner of the towing company decided 2 months later that he is going to take money out of my paychecks to cover the costs of the damage. Since I do not feel obligated to pay for that damage, I told him that unless he gives me my money back, I can't continue working for him. He wouldn't return my money and also said that he was going to take money out of my next few paychecks until the costs were completely covered. So, I finished out the day and didn't come back. This happened May 18th, 2008.

After I quit that job, I started an internet business. I sank all of my money into that business but it never took off so I was broke. I have been trying to get a job for a few months now and haven't been able to get hired. So, I filed for unemployment insurance.

Fast forward to today. I found out that my claim for unemployment insurance was denied because the owner of the towing company said I voluntarily quit without any substantial cause. I told the department of unemployment security EXACTLY what happened between us but they still denied my claim. So, now I have the option of filing an appeal and I would have to face my old boss at my hearing, which is something that I don't want to do.

The reason that I don't want to do that is because overall he was a good boss to me. He gave me that job when I was desperate for work, even though I had no experience and I was underage to drive his trucks. So the way I see it, he did me a big favor. Even though I disagree with him making me pay for those damage costs, I'm not pissed at him or anything. I was getting tired of that dirty job and was actually kind of looking for an excuse to quit, and this incident was my out.