Problem with computer not "seeing" keyboard or mouse...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by SantorinA4, Jan 23, 2004.

  1. SantorinA4

    SantorinA4 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,827
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sachse, Texas
    I was in the process of trying to reinstall windows 2000 pro on my old pc when that one decided not to boot past starting windows 2000. So, I put it in my new pc, unplugged the other hard drive and went to work at reinstalling. Once that was done, I took out the hard drive and put it in the other pc which is still not booting all the way). I plugged back in the newer hard drive into the new pc and started to boot. I can get all the way to the login screen and then I'm screwed. It's waiting for me to hit enter but it's not seeing the keyboard. I tried using the mouse to click ok but it's not seeing that either. Can you guys help me get this thing working again? Oh, and I tried reinstalling win2000 on the new computer but when it says hit any key to boot to cd...it won't let me.
     
  2. Dark-Hawk

    Dark-Hawk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    NEVER do that to installations. It's not good to install Windows on one computer and then transfer the HD to another. Also make sure the keyboard/mouse are not setup through USB.
     
  3. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    You can install it on one computer then transfer it if the computers are exactly identical, but otherwise, yeah, bad idea.
     
  4. SantorinA4

    SantorinA4 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,827
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sachse, Texas
    They aren't setup through USB. I actually did try that after it wouldn't work the other way and still nothing.

    So, does this mean I need a new hard drive? Is there anyway to wipe out the one in the new pc or am I screwed out of the money I spent on it?
     
  5. SantorinA4

    SantorinA4 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,827
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sachse, Texas
    Well, they weren't exacly a like but both had win2000. The old one was missing a file so I needed to repair it. What do I do know? New hard drive or did I hose the pc?
     
  6. SantorinA4

    SantorinA4 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,827
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sachse, Texas
    ttt Any suggestions guys? :x:
     
  7. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I don't mean identical software-wise, I mean hardware-wise. If you installed it on a machine with different hardware than the one you're using it on, then you'll have driver issues. That's probably the problem, motherboard drivers or something.
     
  8. SantorinA4

    SantorinA4 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,827
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sachse, Texas
    How can I fix that? It won't let me hit a key when it says boot to disk so it just goes right by that. Should I reset CMOS on my board? It has a jumper for that.
     
  9. SantorinA4

    SantorinA4 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,827
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sachse, Texas
    Well, I reset the CMOS and now everything works great. I've learned my lesson now. :hs:
     

Share This Page