Problem with an Ibook, help please!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Atheist, Nov 12, 2005.

1. Atheist

Atheist oh, hi OT Supporter

A friend of mine is having a problem with her Ibook and I would like to be able to offer her some advice. I am very fluent with windows being a .net programmer and techie by profession but with Macs I have only the limited experience of playing with my Ibook. No trouble shooting yet! Here's what its doing...

When she turns the computer on it goes to a blue screen with a small box in the middle of it with a question mark in it. I instructed her to put the osx install disk into the computer. She said that when she did this nothing came up except for an apple and a spinning thing, and that while it sounded like it was doing something it never proceeded past that screen.

She had called apple and they told her that they thought it was hardware related and to send it in for a 300$ flat charge which would probably go up once they got it. What can we try before resorting to this? Thanks guys!

2. manchild

manchild OT Supporter

Its a blue screen (more gray, right? its not the bright blue windows uses), with a little box and a ? mark, but then it should flash the mac symbol (the face) and then the ? mark....

Means that it cant find the boot drive, or the Hard Drive that has her OS installed...

Does she have the original software? If so, just pop in the OS X install disks it came with, and re-install it.

Mine did that for a while (because i like half installled a new OS, so it lost my boot disk) but what happens is after about 30 seconds, it'll search for the boot disk (in other locations than the place that it was, or where it should be) then it would find it and boot...

If hers never boots, then she or u or someone deleted her Boot software, and her OSX.