Problem in leopard HELP!!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by arostad, Nov 10, 2008.

  1. arostad

    arostad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minot, ND
    I have had this problem for some time now..

    first off, my computer info

    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro4,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.5 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 6 MB
    Memory: 4 GB
    Bus Speed: 800 MHz

    [​IMG]
    ok, now I consider myself a mac power user but this problem has stumped the fuck outta me.

    I am having issues with the finder being slow. When I move files around in folders OR move files to the trash it takes a good 5+ seconds to complete the process.. it's kinda shitty and it's pissing me off. First thing I tried was a full format, worked great for about a month then went back to being slow. It looks like there are many other on the apple support forms with the same prob but I tried every solution the geeks had on there and nothing worked for me. I have tried to reset my nvram, smc, repaired my permissions, cleared my caches, deleted my setting files for my desktop and prefferences, checked my smart status on my drive. I have tried EVERYTHING! I guess I am just hoping somebody on here had the same prob and can give me a solution that I have not already tried. PLEASE!!
     
  2. Deepsix

    Deepsix OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    19,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    get a 7200rpm drive
     
  3. arostad

    arostad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minot, ND
    thats not the prob.. I have had 7200rpm drives and there was no noticeable diff in speeds for the type of stuff I use my mbp for, just less battery life.
     
  4. Deepsix

    Deepsix OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    19,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    7200rpm has been proven not to reduce battery life. try again.
     
  5. arostad

    arostad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minot, ND
    you are right, the energy that it takes to spin that drive faster is provided through the air and does not affect the battery life at all, it totally makes sense.

    :gtfo2:
     
  6. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,293
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    http://ultramobilepc-tips.blogspot.com/2006/04/7200-rpm-less-battery-life-myth.html

    CLIFFS: 7200RPM doesn't use more battery life.
     
  7. arostad

    arostad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minot, ND
    hmmm well I do not have a hattachi drive, so bring on some more info about all brands of drives and preferably not from the fucking manufactures mouth.
     
  8. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Have you tried resetting the PRAM? Also, if there's a faulty hard drive in the machine, I could see it slowing things down. Although if that's the case, then doing a re-install probably wouldn't help much, which you did and it worked temporarily.
     
  9. arostad

    arostad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minot, ND
    yea, I reset the nvram/pram and it did nothing for me. I honestly think it's not a hard drive issue because there are no other signs of it being slow besides the file move/delete thing. The thing will boot up in a matter of 30 seconds or less and transfers files very fast (speed wise).
     
  10. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    its gotta be something installed.. checked the console log files etc?
     

Share This Page